DUI Attorneys in Rhode Island
A DUI attorney in Rhode Island can offer many advantages if you were recently arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI)â€"also known as driving under the influence (DUI). By hiring a DUI attorney who understands the court system, you may able to reduce your fines and penalties.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
This page can help you in the process of finding a RI DUI attorney.
While you're looking to hire a DUI lawyer, keep the following tips in mind:
- Pick a DUI attorney with experience.
- Ask people you know for any recommendations.
- Your friends or family may be able to suggest a good DUI attorney.
- Consult at least a few lawyers before deciding, since consultations are typically free.
- Find out how much you'll have to pay in attorney fees.
- Some attorneys require payment on a certain date, plus retainer fees.
Your best bet is hiring a Rhode Island DUI attorney who has handled cases similar to yours.
Charges Handled by DUI Attorneys
DUI attorneys in RI should be able to handle any type of alcohol-related offense, including charges for:
- Refusing to submit to a breath test.
- Driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher.
- Driving with a BAC between 0.02% and 0.08% (if you're younger than 21 years old).
If you have any questions about your DUI case before your court hearing, your lawyer should have the answers you need. A DUI attorney can also:
- Represent you in Rhode Island court.
- Fill out and submit all required court documents.
- Explain your charges and provide guidance on how you should plead.
- Walk you through the court process.
The penalties you'll receive from the court and the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) are based on your specific DUI charges, age, and driving record.
Some consequences you can expect for your 1st offense of a DUI if convicted of driving with a BAC between 0.08% and 0.10%, include:
- Fine: $100 to $300.
- A driver's license suspension between 30 to 180 days.
- Jail time for up to 1 year.
- Community service (10 to 60 hours).
You may also be subject to the following penalties:
- $500 Highway Safety Assessment fee.
- An $86 fee.
- Completion of an alcohol treatment program.
- Mandatory completion of a driving school course.
If you've had multiple DUI offenses, your penalties and fines will increase. Hiring a RI DUI attorney can help to minimize your penalties and save you money in the long term.
For more information, visit our DUI & DWI in Rhode Island page.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!