Drivers Ed in Rhode Island
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Driver's Education in Rhode Island
If you're a teenager applying for your first driver's license, you'll need to complete a Driver's Ed program to meet the requirements of the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Completing a driver's education course will help you gain the driving knowledge and skills necessary to satisfy the next steps of your licensing requirements and ace your DMV written and road tests.
On this page, you'll find information about Rhode Island Driver's Ed courses and the next steps towards obtaining your first driver's license.
If you are younger than 18 years old and want to apply for a RI learner's permit, you'll need to first complete a Driver's Ed course.
You'll be able to participate in your first driver's education class session when you are at least 15 years and 10 months old.
Your Rhode Island Driver's Ed will be completed over a total of 33 hours.
Throughout your driver's education program, you'll cover topics such as:
- Safe and defensive driving techniques.
- Traffic laws and rules of the road.
- Responding to hazardous conditions and situations.
- Operating a vehicle.
- Sharing the road.
- Substance abuse and its effects on driving.
Completing the program will help you pass your DMV written test and prepare you for the supervised behind-the-wheel practice required while you hold your learner's permit.
All driver's education courses must be approved by the Community College of Rhode Island.
The CCRI offers Driver's Ed courses to new drivers at:
- Many high schools.
- CCRI campuses.
- Some CCRI satellite locations.
- Complete a Registration Form for CWCE Driver Education.
- Pay the $85 registration fee.
- Submit your application and payment in one of the following ways:
- In person at one of the CCRI locations listed on the website.
- By fax to (401) 825-1116.
- By mail to the address on the form
For more information about locations and schedules, please visit the CCRI website or contact the driver's education program.
- Phone: (401) 825-1214.
- E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org.
NOTE: Out-of-state courses must be certified by the Community College of Rhode Island to satisfy the DMV Driver's Ed requirements.
Completing Driver's Ed will put you one step closer to the driver's seat, but before you can get your first Rhode Island driver's license, you'll need to obtain your learner's permit.
You'll need to visit the Cranston DMV office and:
- Be 16 to 18 years old.
- Submit your driver's education completion certificate.
- Pass the DMV written test.
Once you have your Rhode Island learner's permit, you must meet the following requirements before applying for your driver's license:
- Complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice with a licensed adult (including 10 hours at night).
- Hold your learner's permit for at least 6 months with no traffic violations.
- Pass your road test.
For more information, please see our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Rhode Island page.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!