Commercial Driver FAQs in Rhode Island
Get Free Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes from Multiple Providers
Enter Your Zip Code:
What actions must I take if convicted of a traffic violation?
By law, you are required to notify your employer within 30 days. If you're ticketed in another state, you must inform both your company and Rhode Island's Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Do I have to go through the testing process if, while in the armed services, I owned a military license to drive heavy equipment?
Rhode Island will honor your military license by not mandating a road test, provided you are applying for the same class of license.
What special endorsements should I be aware of?
Rhode Island requires endorsements for double and triple trailers, tanker vehicles, school buses, and vehicles placarded for hazardous materials.
What do I need to know If I'm looking to obtain a hazardous material (hazmat) endorsement?
Under the U.S. Patriot Act, you must submit to a background check. In addition, you must be fingerprinted and provide verification that you're a U.S. citizen or a permanent legal resident. Fingerprinting is handled by Integrated Biometrics Technology at:
- 1006 Reservoir Ave. - 2nd floor
- Cranston, RI 02920
Be sure to bring a completed hazmat application to the fingerprinting office. You'll also need a credit card, money order, or electronic check to pay the $89.25 processing fee.
If you have questions, call (877) 429-7746.
What are the ramifications for DUI?
You will be charged with DUI if your blood alcohol count (BAC) is .04 or higher. Upon conviction, you will lose your CDL for one year after the first offense. If caught again, you will lose your CDL for life.
What are the requirements for a school bus endorsement?
Rhode Island adheres to strict standards for all school bus applicants. Before considering a job as a bus driver, you must first make sure you meet the following requirements:
- Be at least 21 years old.
- Have at least three years of driving experience and boast a flawless driving record.
- Not be convicted of a felony of any kind.
You must pass four different written tests: general knowledge, passenger endorsement, school bus endorsement, and air brake. Only then will you be able to apply for a CDL permit.
You must also pass a driving skill test in order to earn the school bus endorsement.
Downloading Rhode Island's 12-page Bus Driving Manual is recommended. It covers everything you need to know to pass the long list of exams.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
Instant Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record.
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.