Car Insurance in Rhode Island
1. FAST 2. COMPARE 3. $AVE Fill out a quote form about you and your vehicles Instantly get free quotes from top car insurance companies Choose from the lowest rate policies and save hundreds
Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.
Car Insurance in Rhode Island
All drivers in Rhode Island must have liability coverage, and all liability insurance policies must offer uninsured motorist coverage. This coverage option is helpful, because around 15% of the cars on the state’s roads are uninsured.
Read below to learn more about required and optional car insurance coverage, as well as discounts and other details about car insurance rates.
RI Car Insurance Requirements
RI drivers must have liability insurance to help cover another driver’s expenses resulting from an accident for which you are at fault.
In addition, all Rhode Island auto insurance policies must offer uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, but you can decline this coverage if you choose.
If you are found to be at fault for a car accident, liability coverage helps pay for:
- Damage to someone else’s property.
- Injuries to the other driver and/or passengers.
The minimum coverage limits you can purchase in Rhode Island are:
- Bodily injury coverage:
- $25,000 per person.
- $50,000 total per accident.
- Property damage coverage:
- $25,000 per accident.
You can purchase coverage with higher limits, which will increase your insurance rates but offers more coverage.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
All car insurance policies in Rhode Island must include uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage equal to the limits of your liability coverage (see above for limits).
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage pays for your property damage and injuries if you are involved in:
- A hit and run accident.
- An accident in which the at-fault driver:
- Does not have car insurance.
- Does not have enough insurance.
- Does not have car insurance.
You can decline uninsured motorist coverage. However, remember that an estimated 15% of cars in Rhode Island are uninsured, so uninsured motorist coverage can give you important protection.
Optional Auto Insurance in RI
RI car insurance policies can also include optional insurance coverage types that provide protection in other situations.
These optional coverage types help pay for damages, injuries, and other expenses:
- Collision coverage: Pays for damage to your vehicle in an accident you cause.
- Comprehensive coverage: Pays for damage to your car caused by non accident-related factors like severe weather, theft, or wildlife.
- Medical payments coverage: Provides additional coverage to help pay medical expenses.
- Rental reimbursement coverage: Reimburses you if you need to rent a car after an accident.
- Towing and labor coverage: Pays for towing costs when your car breaks down and cannot be driven.
NOTE: If you are financing or leasing your car, you are required to buy collision coverage and comprehensive coverage.
Proof of Insurance
You are required by law to carry proof of insurance in your car at all times.
Acceptable proof of insurance is an insurance card or photocopy of an insurance card showing the car owner’s name.
Traffic Stops or Accidents
Failure to provide proof of insurance when you are stopped by a police officer or involved in an accident will result in a $500 fine.
RI Vehicle Registration
RI Driver’s License
To apply for or renew your Rhode Island driver’s license, you must sign a statement obligating you to carry proof of insurance with your vehicle registration at all times.
The Rhode Island DMV checks car insurance by sending requests for car insurance verification to drivers involved in accidents, and to randomly selected drivers and registered vehicle owners.
If you do not have car insurance, you face fines and driver’s license suspension or revocation.
Insurance Verification in Rhode Island
You will receive an insurance verification request if you are involved in a car accident.
Verification requests are also sent to:
- A random selection of Rhode Island vehicle owners.
- A random selection of drivers:
- Whose registration has been suspended for auto insurance violations in the last 4 years.
- Whose driver’s license has been suspended in the last 4 years.
- Who have bought a car in the past 4 years while the car’s registration was suspended for an insurance violation.
If you receive an insurance verification request, you must respond within 20 days.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in RI
Failure to provide verification of valid car insurance will result in:
- A fine of $500 to $5,000.
- Revocation of your vehicle registration and license plate:
- First offense: 3 months.
- Second offense: 6 months.
- Third and additional offenses: 1 year.
The violation is a misdemeanor offense, which can carry a 1-year prison sentence.
Alternative Insurance for High-Risk Drivers
You may be considered a high-risk driver if you have violations, at-fault accidents, suspensions, or other infractions on your driving record.
If you cannot find a car insurance company that will offer you coverage because of your status as a high-risk driver, you can buy car insurance through the Rhode Island Automobile Insurance Plan (RIAIP).
The RIAIP will assign an auto insurance company to cover you.
You can contact the RIAIP by phone, by e-mail, or by fax:
- Phone: (401) 946-2600.
- E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Fax: (401) 528-1409.
The rates you pay through the RIAIP can be very expensive, so make sure you have shopped around thoroughly before applying for RIAIP coverage.
SR22 Insurance in RI
If you have had your driver’s license or vehicle registration suspended or revoked, you may be required to have SR-22 as proof of future financial responsibility before your license or registration can be reinstated.
In Rhode Island, SR-22 certification (also called SR22 insurance) is required to reinstate your license or registration after suspension due to:
- Vehicular manslaughter.
- DWI or DUI.
- A felony involving a motor vehicle.
- Committing a hit and run.
- Perjury or false statements made to the RI MVD.
- Conviction of 3 reckless driving violations within 12 months.
- Using a forged license to buy alcohol.
- Other violations at the discretion of the Rhode Island MVD.
SR-22 certification can be removed after 1 year IF you have not had any additional convictions.
Your insurance company must file the SR-22 insurance with the RI DMV.
This requirement can be expensive. The best way to avoid it is to drive safely and maintain a clean driving record.
Insurance Complaints and Fraud
Rhode Island car insurance is regulated by the State of Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation, Insurance Division.
The Insurance Division reviews auto insurance rates to ensure that they are fair.
They also handle complaints and investigate insurance fraud.
If you have a concern or complaint about a car insurance provider, you can contact the Division of Insurance Regulation for help:
- Submit the Consumer Complaint online form.
- Send supporting documents and a copy of the complaint form:
- By mail:
State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
Department of Business Regulation
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg 69-2
Cranston, RI 02902
- By fax: (401) 462-9602.
- By mail:
Auto Insurance Fraud
Car insurance fraud can take many forms, including:
- Forged insurance documents.
- False or exaggerated claims.
- Staged car accidents.
If you suspect insurance fraud, you can report it to the Rhode Island Auto Theft and Fraud Unit by calling (401) 444-1035.
Fraud can cost insurance companies a lot of money, which can result in increased rates. Therefore, reporting fraud can help keep your premium low.
RI Car Insurance Rates
In Rhode Island, car insurance premiums are based on several factors, including:
- Your driving record.
- Your age, gender, and marital status.
- Your insurance coverage:
- History, including lapsed or canceled policies.
- Type of coverage selected.
- Limits of the coverage you choose.
- Your deductible (amount you pay towards a claim).
- Specific information about your car, including:
- The make, model, and year.
- Location where your car is kept.
- How your car is used.
- Your credit report.
These factors are used to determine your rate group, which in turn determines how high or low your rates are.
RI Car Insurance Discounts
Many car insurance companies in Rhode Island offer discounts that can lower your auto insurance premiums.
When getting car insurance quotes for comparison, ask about the availability of these rate discounts:
- Multiple policies with the same insurance company.
- Multiple vehicles on one policy.
- Renewing your policy each year.
- Accident-free driving.
- Safety devices in your car, like airbags.
- Anti-theft devices, like security systems.
- Low annual mileage on your car.
- Driver training courses for teenaged or older drivers.
- Good grades for student drivers.
To get the most affordable car insurance in Rhode Island, be sure to compare the rates offered by different insurance companies, consider a higher deductible, and maintain a good driving record.Choose a State:
Local Auto Insurance
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
Insurance Resource Center
- Shop For Insurance Online
- Insurance State Requirements
Auto Insurance Center
- Auto Insurance Policy Basics
- Top Reasons To Buy Insurance Coverage
- Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements
- Buying Car Insurance Basics
- Buying Car Insurance For Teens
- Teen Guide To Car Insurance
- How To Get Car Insurance Coverage With A Learners Permit
- First Time Drivers Guide To Car Insurance
- How To Save Money On Teen Car Insurance
- Common Driving Mistakes Teens Make
- Safe Driving Tips For Teenage Drivers
- Safe Cars For Teen Drivers
- How To Add Teens To Your Auto Insurance Policy
- Tips for Car Insurance Policy Holders
- Types Of Auto Insurance Coverage
- Buying Car Insurance For Seniors
- Senior Guide To Car Insurance
- Extended Insurance Coverage Guide
- How To Get The Most Out Of Your Auto Insurance Coverage
- When To Buy Rental Car Insurance
- How To Cover Vandalism Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Auto Theft Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Windshield Repair Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Accidents With Wildlife Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Lost Wages Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Medical Expenses Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Pet Injuries Through Car Insurance
- How To Avoid Auto Insurance Non Renewal
Commercial Auto Insurance
- Commercial Auto Insurance Requirements
- Commercial Auto Insurance State Requirements
- Federal Motor Carrier Insurance
- CDL Federal Requirements
- Commercial Insurance Filing
- State Commercial Insurance Filings
- Federal Truck Filings
- Intrastate Truck Filings
- Interstate Transportation Filings
- Certificate Of Insurance
- Uniform Carrier Registration Plan
- Types Of Commercial Auto Insurance
- Commercial Vehicle Insurance Discounts
- Multiple Policy Discount For Commercial Vehicles
- Paid In Full Commercial Vehicle Insurance Discount
- Commercial Business Experience Discount
- Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes
- Commercial Auto Insurance Articles
- Who Needs Commercial Auto Insurance
- Types Of Commercial Vehicles To Insure
- How To Save Money On Commercial Auto Insurance
- What You Need For A Commercial Insurance Quote
- Types Of Business Vehicle Insurance
- How To Compare Commercial Insurance Quotes
- How To Get The Most Out Of Your Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage
- Types Of Commercial Trailers To Insure
- Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements
- Types Of Motorcycle Coverage
- Accessory Coverage For Motorcycles
- Comprehensive Physical Damage Insurance For Motorcycles
- Collision Insurance For Motorcycles
- Bodily Injury Liability Insurance For Motorcycles
- Property Damage Liability Insurance For Motorcycles
- Medical Payments Insurance For Motorcycle Riders
- Personal Injury Protection Insurance For Motorcyclists
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage For Motorcyclists
- Underinsured Motorist Coverage For Motorcyclists
- Motorcycle Roadside Assistance
- Motorcycle Insurance Quotes
- Motorcycle Insurance Rates
- Motorcycle Insurance Discounts
- Online Motorcycle Insurance
- Motorcycle Insurance Articles
- Motocross Insurance
- Dirt Bike Insurance
- Moped Insurance
- Trike Insurance
- Scooter Insurance
Auto Insurance Policy Basics
- Auto Insurance Deductible
- Auto Insurance Limit
- Auto Insurance Premium
- Auto Insurance Quote
- Auto Insurance Rates
- Motor Vehicle Report
- Proof Of Financial Responsibility
- Auto Insurance Endorsement
- Auto Insurance Exclusion
- Auto Insurance Rating
- Auto Insurance Code
- Auto Insurance Discounts
- How To Obtain Proof Of Insurance
- How To Change Auto Insurance Providers
- Factors That Affect Insurance Rates
- How To Cancel An Auto Insurance Policy
- When An Accident Happens
- Accident Loss
- Auto Accident Payment Recovery
- Total Loss
- Proof of Loss
- Actual Cash Value
- Lost Wages
- Salvage Vehicles
- How To File An Accident Report With The Police
- Evaluating Personal Injury In Auto Accidents
- First Steps Following A Personal Injury Auto Accident
- When To Seek Medical Attention For Personal Injury
- Protection Against Auto Insurance Fraud
- How To Handle Staged Car Accidents
- Types of Insurance Claims
- Bodily Injury Claims
- Property Damage Claims
- Windshield Claims
- Third Party Insurance Claims
- About Car Insurance Claims
- How Car Insurance Claims Affect Your Auto Insurance Policy
- When To Cover Personal Injury With Auto Insurance
- How Much Personal Injury Protection To Buy
- Supplementing Health Insurance With Personal Injury Protection
- Pain And Suffering In Personal Injury Claims
- Statute Of Limitations And Personal Injury
- Negligence And Determining Legal Liability
- Auto Insurance Claim Settlements
- Auto Insurance Settlements Involving Personal Injury
- Proving Fault In An Auto Accident Personal Injury Case
- Compensation For Auto Accident Personal Injury Claims
- Tips For Settling A Motor Vehicle Accident Claim
- Factors That Affect Compensation In Personal Injury Claims
- Legal Representation For Insurance Claims
- When To Hire A Personal Injury Attorney
- When To Hire A Lawyer
- Personal Injury Attorney Fees
- How To Choose Personal Injury Lawyers
- Benefits of Hiring A Personal Injury Attorney
- What To Submit To A Personal Injury Attorney
- Processing Car Insurance Claims
- How Car Insurance Companies Handle Claims
- How Car Insurance Companies Investigate Accident Claims
- How To Document Auto Accident Damage
- When To Report An Auto Accident To The DMV
- Tips On Documenting Personal Injury Expenses
- Paying Medical Bills Before Receiving Personal Injury Compensation
- Wage Loss In Personal Injury Auto Accident Cases
- How To File A Loss Of Wages Auto Claim
- Stages Of A Personal Injury Case
- Filing Car Insurance Claims