Menu

Dealers Handbook in Rhode Island

For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.

Service Comparison State Motor Vehicle Agency
Online Registration
Same Day Processing
E-Copy of Registration No
Next Day Delivery No
Alternate Mailing Address Requires Address Change
Phone Support No
Convenience Fee $0 $29
Learn More Do it for me

Start Your CaReg Expedited Registration Renewal

Useful Forms

While the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) does not provide one comprehensive vehicle dealer handbook, the organization does offer a number of downloadable forms of use to those interested in the business of selling motor vehicles. For example:

For additional information regarding motor vehicle dealer licensing procedures,
call or write to the Division of Motor Vehicles.

Rhode Island's General Laws

If you're interested in detailed information regarding laws, review Chapter 31-5 of Rhode Island's General Laws. Topics covered include:

  • Application process
  • Applicable licensing fees
  • Examination of records
  • Penalties for violations by dealers
  • Criminal liability for violations
  • Dealership violations that are considered serious enough to result in the loss of your license
  • Hearings on the suspension or revocation of your license

Chapter 31-5.1, covering the regulation of business practices among motor vehicle manufacturers, dealers, and distributors may also be useful.

Motor Vehicle Dealers License and Hearing Board

The Motor Vehicle Dealers License and Hearing Board is charged with overseeing the activities of used and new car dealers throughout the state. This board handles complaints from the general public as well as investigating misuse of dealer regulations.

Contact information and meeting minutes for the Motor Vehicle Dealers License and Hearing Board can be viewed on the Rhode Island Secretary of State website.

Related Content

Provide Feedback

DMV.org BBB Business Review

Looking for Dealers Handbook in Another State?