Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Suspended CDL in Pennsylvania

    CDL Suspensions in Pennsylvania

    If your commercial driver’s license (CDL) was suspended/disqualified by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (DOT/PennDOT), you’ll need to satisfy your suspension requirements before you can reinstate it.

    Your CDL may be disqualified/suspended for violations including:

    • Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol.
    • Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
    • Reckless driving and speeding.
    • Violating out-of-service orders.
    • Committing serious traffic offenses.

    On this page you’ll find information about your disqualification and how to reinstate your PA CDL.

    About Your Suspended CDL in PA

    The duration of your Pennsylvania commercial driver’s license disqualification will vary depending on your offense.

    NOTE: Depending on the circumstances of your violation, you may also face court penalties and fines in addition to any PennDOT penalties.

    For more information about your disqualification, contact the PA DMV:

    • Within Pennsylvania:
      • (800) 932-4600.
      • TDD: (800) 228-0676.
    • Out of state:
      • (717) 412-5300.
      • TDD: (717) 412-5380.

    Your CDL and privilege to drive a commercial vehicle in Pennsylvania are subject to state and federal regulations, including disqualifications lasting:

    • 1 year for a 1st violation of a major offense, such as:
      • A DUI or drug-related offense.
      • Refusing to submit to a BAC test.
      • Hit and runs and leaving the scene of a truck accident.
      • Using a vehicle in a felony.
    • 3 years for a 1st violation of a major offense while transporting hazardous materials.
    • For life for a 2nd violation of a major offense.
    • 60 – 120 days for multiple serious traffic violations within 3 years.
    • 60 – 120 days for railroad highway grade crossing violations.

    NOTE: Your CDL can be disqualified if you’re found driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04% or higher.

    Within 30 days of any conviction for a traffic offense, you must notify your employer.

    If your CDL is suspended, disqualified, revoked, or cancelled, you must notify your employer by the end of the next business day after you receive your disqualification notice.

    NOTE: Your CDL can also be disqualified for offenses/violations committed in a non-commercial vehicle. For more information, please see our Suspended License in Pennsylvania page.

    Check Your CDL Status

    Traffic law violations and offenses will be recorded on your driving record.

    Along with driving record points, your CDL can be disqualified for committing serious traffic violations, such as:

    • Speeding and reckless driving.
    • Erratic lane changes and following too closely.
    • Driving without the proper endorsements.

    If you accumulate too many driving record points, you can also lose your non-commercial PA driving privileges.

    Depending on the number of points you accumulate and the number of offenses, your Pennsylvania CDL can be disqualified up to 120 days.

    Check Your Commercial Driver License Status

    Is your PA CDL suspended or disqualified? Check your driving record to find out.

    Disqualified Pennsylvania CDL Hearings

    While you cannot request an administrative hearing to contest your disqualified/suspended CDL, you may request a PA DOT hearing to:

    • Request credit for time served on your suspension/disqualification.
    • Review/update your driving record.
    • Request credit for an ignition interlock order.
    • Appeal DOT decisions regarding your eligibility for a restricted license.

    To request an administrative hearing, you will need:

    • To write a letter that includes:
      • Your name, commercial driver’s license number, and date of birth.
      • A statement of facts for your case.
      • Legal information that supports your appeal.
      • Your mailing address and phone number.
      • Your signature and your lawyer’s signature, if applicable.
    • Any documents that relate to your request/appeal.
    • Payment for the filing fee.

    Mail the above to the Secretary of Transportation. For more information, including the filing fee and address to mail your document to, see the Administrative Hearings Fact Sheet.

    NOTE: To contest a CDL suspension resulting from a criminal court decision, you must contact the court that served your disqualification. PA DOT administrative hearings have no effect on court decisions.

    Contact a Local Attorney

    Find a CDL lawyer that can help you with your Pennsylvania commercial license suspension.

    Reinstate Your PA Commercial Driver’s License

    Your reinstatement requirements will vary depending on the reason for your disqualification and whether or not your non-commercial driving privileges are also suspended.

    The Pennsylvania DMV provides restoration requirement letters that explain the steps to reinstate your CDL. To obtain your restoration letter:

    • Visit the PA DOT website and enter your:
      • Driver license number.
      • Date of birth.
      • Social Security number (SSN).
      OR
    • Call:
      • Within Pennsylvania: (800) 932-4600.
      • Out of state: (717) 412-5300.

    NOTE: If you don’t request a your reinstatement requirement letter online or by phone, the PennDOT will mail one to you about 30 days before your suspension/disqualification period ends.

    To reinstate your CDL, you may need to:

    • Submit clearance documents to the PennDOT.
    • Satisfy any court requirements, if applicable.
    • Retake the commercial driving skills and knowledge tests, if necessary.
    • Pay reinstatement fees. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your PA CDL” below.)

    Fees to Reinstate Your PA CDL

    Your CDL reinstatement fees will vary depending on the reason for your disqualification/suspension.

    For information about your reinstatement fees/requirements, you can either:

    • Refer to your reinstatement requirement notice.
    • Visit the PennDOT website and enter your:
      • Driver’s license number.
      • Date of birth.
      • Social Security number.
      OR
    • Call the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation to request a copy of your reinstatement requirements:
      • Within Pennsylvania: (800) 932-4600.
      • Out of state: (717) 412-5300.

    Acceptable Forms of Payment

    The Pennsylvania DOT accepts the following forms of payment:

    • In person/by mail: Check or money order payable to “PA Department of Transportation.”
    • Online: VISA, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover credit/debit cards.
    Compare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip: