Motorcycle Registration in Pennsylvania
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
Just like cars, all motorcycles in Pennsylvania are required by law to be registered with the Department of Transportation (PennDOT). To do so you must initially register in person at any Driver License Center.
The lines tend to be long, so prepare accordingly. And if possible, try to avoid visiting at the first and last of each month, for the lines during these times have been known to cause grown men to weep openly.
What to Bring
- Form MV-1. This can't be downloaded, but you can pick it up at any Driver License Center.
- A valid title.
- Proof of insurance. It must be with a Pennsylvania insurance company.
- Proper identification.
- Tracing or verification of your motorcycle's vehicle identification number (VIN). It must be verified by either an inspection mechanic or a dealership notary.
- A check or money order to pay the $18 registration fee.
New residents to the state have 20 days to register their motorcycles. Registration processing takes about 10 days, and after you receive your registration in the mail you will have another 10 days to get your motorcycle inspected.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
- Would Iron Man buy rental car insurance
- The Truth Will Set You (Hands) Free
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.