Motorcycle License in Pennsylvania
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
If you opt for the two-wheel rush of riding a motorcycle, Pennsylvania does require that you have a motorcycle license (Class M) as a verification, of sorts, that you are a safe and responsible rider. But before this can happen, you first need a permit from the Department of Transportation (PennDOT).
To spark the permit process, download the Motorcycle Operator Manual (you may also download it in Spanish). Study the manual. In order to obtain a permit, you need to pass a written test based on information contained therein.
- When you feel test-confident, visit any Driver License Center and submit a Motorcycle Learner's Permit application along with a $10 fee.
- You will then be given a vision screening and a motorcycle knowledge (written) test. You do not need an appointment for this exam.
- If you pass, you will immediately be issued a motorcycle learner's permit.
Your motorcycle learner's permit is valid for one year and allows you to practice riding between sunrise and sunset provided you're accompanied by another person licensed to operate a motorcycle.
You can either practice for your skills test on your own time or enroll in Pennsylvania's Motorcycle Safety Program (PAMSP). The program is free and provides 15 hours of safety instruction while supplying bikes and helmets. Besides the obvious advantages of this program, upon completion your permit automatically upgrades to full license (Class M) status without you having to take a skills test. PAMSP can be reached at (800) 845-9533.
If you don't enroll in PAMSP, you will need to schedule a skills test with PennDOT. You can do this online or by calling 1-800-932-4600.
When you arrive at the testing area, be sure to have with you:
- Your Pennsylvania motorcycle learner's permit.
- A regular Pennsylvania driver's license.
- An inspection sticker for your motorcycle.
- Valid registration and proof of insurance.
Unlike the testing process for a car license, you do not need to be accompanied to the test site by another licensed rider. The exam will consist of a pre-ride inspection as well as several skill maneuvers including right circles, left circles, and figure-eights.
If you pass, you'll need to pay $31 for a four-year license.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.