Commercial Driver FAQs in PennsylvaniaCompare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps
1. Enter Your Zip:
What is Pennsylvania's "implied consent" law?
It stipulates that by owning a commercial driver's license (CDL), you have tacitly agreed to submit to an alcohol test if requested by a police officer. Refusal will result in an immediate suspension for 1 year, even if you're innocent. If you have a prior refusal, you can be suspended for 18 months.
How long is a CDL permit valid?
1 year, including the time it took to take and pass the knowledge test authorization. During this time you must pass the on-road skills test. If you don't pass and your permit expires, you will need to apply for a new CDL permit before being allowed to take another stab at conquering the skills test.
If I'm an active member of the National Guard, do I need a Pennsylvania CDL to operate a military truck on state roads?
As long as you operate the vehicle while wearing a military uniform, you are not required to have a CDL.
Will an out-of-state traffic ticket affect my Pennsylvania driving status?
The state treats all out-of-state violations as if they occurred in Pennsylvania. So if you got arrested for DUI in North Dakota, for example, it would be treated the same way as if it occurred in Pittsburgh, resulting in a suspension.
Are there any special classes I need to take for a school bus endorsement?
While the state Department of Transportation (PennDOT) doesn't mandate the number of hours you must train for CDL licenses and most endorsements, drivers of school buses have special requirements. You must complete 14 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of on-road training for a school bus endorsement. Until you complete all 20 hours, you can't apply for a road test for that endorsement.Other Topics in This SectionCompare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps
1. Enter Your Zip:Organ Donation Survey
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸