Suspended CDL in Oregon
Commercial Driver License (CDL) Suspensions in Oregon
The Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division (DMV) of the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) closely follows federal regulations when it comes to enforcing CDL laws.
Your can lose your CDL privileges for offenses such as serious traffic violations, railroad crossing violations, DUI offenses, and more. As a commercial driver, a CDL disqualification can be devastating to your career.
Read more to learn all about CDL suspensions, hearings, and reinstatement in Oregon.
CDL holders are generally subject to stricter rules and penalties than those with standard licenses.
Your CDL can be disqualified for all of the following:
- Major offenses.
- Serious traffic violations.
- Railroad-highway grade crossing offenses.
- Violating out-of-service orders.
If you’ve been convicted of any traffic violation, you need to notify your employer within 30 days of the conviction, regardless of the type of vehicle you were driving.
NOTE: You may face additional criminal penalties and fines from the court.
Oregon and federal CDL regulations define the following as major offenses:
- Alcohol- and drug-related offenses, including:
- Operating your vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04%.
- Refusing to submit to a breath or blood test (violating implied consent)*.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Using the CMV to commit a felony, such as transporting illegal substances.
- Causing a death by negligently operating your CMV.
- Operating a CMV without a valid CDL (i.e., if your CDL is disqualified, suspended, or revoked).
Most major offenses will in disqualification for the following periods of time:
- 1st violation: 1 year.
- 3 years if you were transporting hazardous materials.
- 2nd violation: Lifetime disqualification.
* A refusal to submit to a blood alcohol concentration test will disqualify your CDL for the following durations:
- At least 3 years if driving with non-hazardous materials.
- At least 5 years if driving with hazardous materials.
Serious Traffic Violations
Oregon identifies the following as serious traffic violations:
- Excessive speeding (more than 15 mph over the speed limit) or reckless driving.
- Making improper lane changes.
- Following another vehicle too closely.
- Causing a fatal accident by violating any motor vehicle traffic control law (other than a parking violation).
- Operating a commercial vehicle without a CDL, or without the proper CDL endorsements.
For serious violations, your CDL will be disqualified after your:
- 2nd violation within 3 years: 60 days.
- 3rd violation within 3 years: 120 days.
Railroad Crossing Violations
Railroad Highway Grade Crossing (RRHGC) violations are those offenses that involve inappropriate railroad crossing.
Railroad crossing violations include the following:
- Failing to slow down and ensure the tracks are clear before crossing.
- Failing to stop when you’re required.
- Driving across the tracks when there’s not enough room for your CMV or your CMV has insufficient undercarriage clearance.
RRHGC violations will result disqualification of your CDL as follows:
- 1st violation: Minimum of 60 days.
- 2nd violation within 3 years: Minimum of 120 days.
- 3rd violation and any subsequent violations within 3 years: Minimum of 1 year.
If you violate an out-of-service order, you are subject to the following periods of disqualification:
- 1st violation: 180 days.
- 2nd violation in 10 years: 3 years.
If you violate an out-of-service order while transporting hazardous materials, you are subject to the following disqualification terms:
- 1st violation: 1 year.
- 2nd violation in 10 years: 5 years.
Check Your License Status
If you are unsure of your CDL status, or even if you just want to view your driving history, you can check your Oregon driving record.
Your driving record is an account of your driving history (including any tickets, accidents, suspensions, points, etc.).
Staying on top of your driving record can help you avoid a disqualification.
Is your CDL in danger of being suspended or revoked? Check your driver history to be sure that your license is in good standing.
Most CDL disqualifications are irreversible. However, it is important to note that you can have your CDL suspended or disqualified for offenses that were committed in a non-commercial vehicle with your regular driver’s license.
If this is the case, you can request an administrative hearing that could possibly prevent your CDL from being disqualified along with your basic license.
The DMV will notify you if you are eligible for an administrative hearing.
You can request a hearing:
- Online at the Oregon DMV website.
- By fax to the DMV Hearings Case Management Unit at (503) 945-5521.
- By mail to:
DMV Hearings Case Management Unit
1905 Lana Ave. NE
Salem, OR 97314
Your request should include:
- Your name.
- Date of birth.
- Your mailing address.
- Phone number where you can be reached between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m.
- Driver’s license number.
- Vehicle registration plate or title number.
- Request for an interpreter, if you’ll need one.
- Name and contact information of your attorney.
To reinstate your Oregon CDL, you will have to wait until your disqualification period has ended. Additionally, you must:
- Fulfill any specific requirements assigned to you by the court or the OR Division of Motor Vehicles.
- Pay any applicable fees.
You may also be required to apply for a new Oregon CDL and take all tests associated with a CDL application.
For questions regarding your specific suspension or reinstatement requirements, contact your local Oregon DMV office.
Fees to reinstate your CDL may vary based on the reason for disqualification or suspension.
Contact your local DMV office to determine your specific fee(s).
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!