Special Licenses in Oregon
To drive any of the following, you need a commercial driver's license (CDL):
- A vehicle whose actual, registered, or gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) is over 26,000 pounds and is towing a vehicle with an actual, registered, or GVWR of over 10,000 pounds (class A license)
- A vehicle whose actual, registered, or GVWR is over 26,000 pounds and is not towing another vehicle with a GVWR over 10,000 pounds (class B license)
- A vehicle weighing under 26,000 pounds and designed to either transport at least 16 people (including the driver) or carry hazardous materials (class C license)
If you need to apply for a CDL, remember to check our informative articles on commercial driving.
Certain driving professions require having endorsements in addition to a CDL, while others don't require a CDL. We'll sort out some common scenarios below.
To transport school children, you need to have a CDL along with a passenger ("P") endorsement, and either an Oregon school bus driver permit or certificate.
To obtain the school bus driver permit or certificate, applicants need to meet various training and background requirements.
Shuttle buses come in a variety of styles and sizes, and are used in many different ways. Drivers may need to obtain a CDL, along with a passenger or other endorsements. Check with the potential employer to find out what is needed for the particular situation.
There isn't a special statewide driver's license for taxi drivers. However, local jurisdictions may impose their own requirements, such as having to obtain a taxi permit or business license.
While chauffeurs don't need to have any special statewide licenses, local jurisdictions can require additional requirements in addition to having the standard driver's license.
To operate a Class I all-terrain vehicle (ATV) on public lands, you'll need to be at least 12 years old and either have:
- A driver's license
- An ATV operator permit
- A licensed (ATV or regular license) adult who is at least 18 years old supervising you
To obtain an ATV operator permit, you'll need to successfully complete a safety education course. This law applies to all riders 40 and younger. On January 1, 2012 the law will expand to all riders 50 and younger.
Another change in Oregon law requires that all riders 18 and younger must wear helmets and all riders younger than 16 must wear seatbelts.
Class I vehicles ride on three or four tires, are 50" wide or less, have a dry weight of 800 pounds or less, and have a saddle or seat.
Not a Class I?
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Especially for You: Information on Special Licenses
- Operating a Snow Mobile: Special Driver Licenses, Training, and Age Requirements
- What is a Special License, and Do You Need One?
- Driving All-Terrain Vehicles: Special Licenses, Training, and More for ATVs
- Special License Requirements: When and How to Apply for a Special License
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.