Car Inspection in OregonPage Overview
Oregon Vehicle Emissions Testing
Although sometimes considered a nuisance, emissions testing for vehicles is critical to improving and maintaining clean air in Oregon, a state known for its incredible natural beauty.
Information about how to obtain a Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) emissions test, how much it costs, and steps to take in the case of failure is all available at the Oregon DEQ website.
On this page you'll find an overview of the emissions testing program in Oregon.
The DEQ operates Clean Air Stations in the Portland and Medford areas. If you live in one of those areas, your vehicle will likely need to pass an emissions test before you can renew its registration.
In the Portland emissions test area, vehicles that must be tested include:
- All gas-powered, alternative fuel, and hybrid vehicles that are model year 1975 and newer.
- All diesel-powered vehicles that are model year 1975 or newer with a weight rating of 8,500 lbs. or less.
In the Medford emissions testing area, the vehicles that must pass an emissions test include:
- All gas-powered, alternative fuel, and hybrid vehicles that are 20 years old or newer.
- All diesel-powered vehicles that are 20 years old or newer with a weight rating of 8,500 lbs. or less.
Exempt vehicles include:
- Diesel vehicles weight at least 8,501 lbs.
- Vehicles with registration addresses outside of the Portland or Medford testing areas.
- Motorcycles and low-speed vehicles.
NOTE: If your vehicle is exempt, you may need to complete and submit a Declaration of Exemptions: DEQ's Vehicle Inspection Program (Form 735-1400) when you submit your vehicle's registration renewal.
Before taking an Oregon DEQ emissions test, it is advised that you to ensure the following:
- Your vehicle is in good working condition.
- Your vehicle's emissions equipment is functioning and intact.
- The vehicle is not smoking.
- That you've driven sufficiently before the test to get the engine at normal operating temperature.
- That you've left the engine running with vehicle in neutral or park during the test.
- That your pets are left at home and not brought to the testing station.
- That you refrain from smoking and cell phone use while in line for DEQ testing.
- That vehicle with on-board diagnostics (OBD) are in "Ready" status.
- That you have payment for the appropriate emissions testing fees.
DEQ accepts cash, money orders, and credit and debit cards (VISA, MasterCard, Discover).
Unfortunately, Oregon does not offer repair waivers for vehicles that require expensive repairs to pass the test. However, the state does offer a program to help low-income drivers pay for necessary repairs.
If your vehicle fails an emissions test, the emissions testing station will not charge you. You'll receive a diagnostics report that you and your mechanic can use to identify and fix the issue.
Oregon allows repairs to emissions systems to be made by anyone. However, you will likely face harsh penalties for trying to alter or bypass your vehicle's built in emissions control systems.
If you have a low-speed vehicle, electric vehicle you will not need to take your car in for an emissions inspection.
If you have a hybrid vehicle, you will also likely be exempt, however it will depend on your car.
Learn more about these exemptions as well as other perks for eco-friendly driving at our section on green driver incentives.Local Smog Check Stations
Other Topics in This Section
Organ Donation Survey
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Car Inspection
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸