Safety Laws in Oregon
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Seat Belt Laws for Adults
Oregon requires all adult drivers and passengers to wear a seat belt at all times while the vehicle is in motion. Vehicle owners have the responsibility to maintain proper seat belt equipment. While there are a few exceptions, this law applies to most vehicles, such as cars, pick-up trucks, and motor homes.
Child Car Seat Laws
- If your child is under age four or weighs below 40 pounds, you are required to use an approved child safety seat.
- If your child is between ages four and six or weighs between 40-60 pounds, you are required to use a booster seat. Note: this means if your child satisfies any of the requirements, you must use a booster seat. For example, if your child is over the age of 6 but still weighs between 40-60 pounds, you still must restrain him or her in a booster seat.
If you're in the market for one, you can shop online for a child car seat at any time. When ordering, be sure the car seat matches your child's height, weight and age.
Below are links if you have questions or need help with child car seats:
Cell phone restrictions:
- All drivers of all ages are banned from using hand-held cell phones.
- All drivers under 18 are banned from all cell phone usage.
- Texting is banned for all drivers, regardless of age, while behind the wheel.
Regardless of age, anyone riding on a motorcycle must wear a helmet.
Also, if you're under 16 years old, you must wear a helmet when riding a bicycle.
Headlights must be turned on from sunset to sunrise, and any time visibility is reduced to less than 1,000 feet. The law also states that any time drivers turn on the windshield wipers, they are required to have the headlights on regardless of time of day.
High beams can't be used when within 500 feet of approaching vehicles, or within 350 feet of vehicles heading in the direction of the driver.
Oregon law also requires headlights to be turned on when windshield wipers are in use.
Call 911 to report a driver who may be intoxicated, or who is driving so erratically that lives may be in danger.
If outside city limits, drivers may also call (800) 24DRUNK to report suspected drunk drivers.
While Oregon doesn't have any statewide laws specifically concerning the issue of leaving children or pets unattended in a vehicle, some jurisdictions have rules covering these matters. So, contact local authorities to determine if such rules exist in your area.
However, leaving a child unattended long enough that it poses a threat to the child's safety is considered to be child neglect by the state, a second-degree offense.
Other Topics in This Section
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- California Bans Use of Cell Phone GPS While Driving
- Teen Driver Safety: Seat Belt Use
- Headlight Laws Vary Little Throughout the Nation
- Safety Laws On Children, Pets, and Vehicles
- Bicycle Safety Laws: Learn Your State’s Helmet Laws, Traffic Laws, and More
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.