Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Replacing a Lost License in Oregon

    Compare Car Insurance Quotes in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip:

    Introduction

    If your Oregon license or ID has been lost or stolen, you should take immediate steps to replace it with the Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division (DMV). This is especially important if the lost document was your license, since it is illegal to drive without one.

    Report Your Lost or Stolen OR Driver’s License, Permit, or ID

    You are not required by the Oregon DMV to report a lost or stolen license to the police. But if your license has been stolen, it’s always a good idea to notify the police, just in case someone tries to use your license or steal your identity.

    Identity theft affects millions of Americans. Make sure you take appropriate steps to protect yourself from would-be predators.

    Replace Your Lost or Stolen Oregon License

    The Oregon DMV will replace your license, permit, or ID if it has been lost, stolen, or destroyed.

    In order to apply, you need to:

    • Be a resident of Oregon or be domiciled in the state.
    • NOT have had your driving privileges suspended, revoked, or canceled (or reduced in any other way).

    You can only apply for a replacement by visiting your local Oregon DMV office in person and taking the following steps:

    • Present a completed Driver License/Permit/ID Card Application (Form 735-173). *
    • Present appropriate documents of identification, including proof of:
      • Full legal name.
      • Legal presence in the U.S.
      • Identity.
      • Birth date.
      • Social Security number.
      • Residency (if you’ve moved since you got your license, ID, or permit).
    • Get your picture taken.
    • Pay the applicable fee:
      • License: $26.50
      • Permit: $26.50
      • ID Card: $39.50

    Once you’ve taken all of the steps listed above, the Oregon DMV will issue you an interim card to use until your license or permit comes in the mail. You should receive your permanent card within 10 business days.

    * If your original license, permit, or ID is set to expire within the next 14 months, you may have the option to renew instead. If you are eligible to renew, you’ll be asked when you come to the DMV office whether you prefer to renew your license or replace it.

    Out-of-State or Overseas License Replacement

    If you need to get a replacement for a lost or stolen OR license or permit while you are away from the state, you may be able to apply by mail for a Valid-With-Previous-Photo (VWPP) replacement license, which means that you must have a photo on file with the OR DMV to apply.

    To apply, you must request a VWPP packet be sent to your out-of-state address by using a methods below:

    1. Calling (503) 945-5000.
    2. Sending a letter of request for a VWPP to:
    3. DMV Headquarters
      1905 Lana Ave NE
      Salem, OR 97314

    4. Submitting an online request.

    Once you receive the VWPP packet, you must complete it and return it with a check or money order for the applicable fee (see above) made payable to the Oregon DMV to the address listed above.

    OR License Replacement for Military Members

    If you are an Oregon resident stationed abroad or on active duty as a member of the military and you need to replace a driver’s license that has been stolen, destroyed, or lost, you may request a VWPP license or permit.

    In order to apply for a VWPP, you need to have a photograph on file with the DMV that is no older than 9 years and 2 months.

    To apply for a VWPP, you must:

    • Be eligible for a new Oregon license or ID.
      • You must not have a license that has been suspended, canceled, or revoked by any jurisdiction.
    • Complete an online inquiry for a VWPP packet.
      • In Step 3B, indicate the alternate address you want your packet sent to.
      • Provide contact information (email address and phone number).
    • Complete the packet and sign the VWPP Driver License/ID Card Application once you receive it.
    • Include front and back copies of your valid, non-expired Military ID card.
    • Provide proof of your SSN. (The OR DMV provides a full list of acceptable documents).
    • Complete a Driver License/ID Card Proof of Good Cause/Waiver form.
    • Complete a Certification of Oregon Residency or Domicile (Form 735-7182).
    • Provide a copy of your most recent Leave Earnings Statement (LES) (must show Oregon as your place of residence).
    • Include the replacement fee of $26.50 in the form of a check or money order made payable to the Oregon DMV.
    • If you are over 50 years old and renewing your driving privilege you will also need to complete a Certificate of Vision (Form 735-24).

    Send everything to:

    DMV Headquarters
    1905 Lana Ave NE
    Salem, OR 97314

    Spouses & Dependents of Out-of-State Military Members

    If you are married to or a dependent of a military member stationed out-of-state and need to replace a lost or stolen license or permit, you may also apply for a VWPP.

    To apply, you must:

    • Be eligible for a new OR license or ID.
      • You cannot have any restricted driving privileges (for example, revocations, cancelations, or suspensions on your license).
    • Fill out an online inquiry for a VWPP packet.
      • In Step 3B, indicate the out-of-state address you want your packet sent to.
      • Provide your contact information (email address and phone number).
    • Fill out and sign a VWPP Driver License/ID Card Application.
    • Provide photocopies of the front and back of your valid, non-expired spouse or dependent Military ID card.
    • Provide photocopies of the front and back of the military member’s valid, non-expired Military ID card.
    • Provide proof of your Social Security number. (The OR DMV provides a full list of acceptable documents.)
    • Fill out and sign a Certification of Oregon Residency and Domicile (Form 735-7182).
    • Provide a copy of your sponsor’s latest Leave Earning Statement (LES).
      • This must show Oregon as the permanent residence.
    • Include the replacement fee of $26.50 in the form of a check or money order made payable to the Oregon DMV.
    • If you are over 50 years old and need to renew your driving privilege you’ll also need to complete and submit a Certificate of Vision (Form 735-24).
    • Send application and all other documents to:
    • DMV Headquarters
      1905 Lana Ave NE
      Salem, OR 97314

    Replacing a Lost or Stolen CDL in OR

    You cannot drive a commercial vehicle without a valid commercial driver’s license (CDL).

    If your CDL has been lost or stolen, you can get it replaced by visiting your local full-service DMV office in person and taking the following steps.

    • Provide appropriate identification, including proof of:
      • Full legal name.
      • Identity.
      • Birth date.
      • Legal presence in the U.S.
    • Complete a Commercial Driver License Application (Form 735-175), making sure to include your Social Security number.
    • Certify the type of commercial driving you are doing or will do. Indicate whether you meet the federal requirements for driving a commercial vehicle.
    • Provide a copy of a valid medical certificate (only if the DMV doesn’t already have one for you on file).
      • If the certificate indicates it, you must have a valid waiver or exemption.
    • Pay the $26.50 fee.
    • Get your photograph taken.

    If you are replacing a license that didn’t have a CDL endorsement or you wish to remove a CDL restriction, you may have to take additional tests and pay the associated fees.

    Organ Donation Survey

    Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?

    Yes No

    Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.

    Update Your Organ
    Donor Information ▸