- Location: Oregon
Renewing Your License in Oregon
Renewing your driver license?
Perfect time to compare car insurance rates.
1. Start Your Quote:Page Overview
Driving without a valid license is against the law, so you'll want to renew your license as soon as possible.
Additionally, keep in mind that drivers must provide proof of financial responsibility. Purchasing a car insurance policy is normally the most effective way to satisfy this requirement. Visit our Insurance Center to learn more about how to find a policy that provides the coverage you need at a price you can afford.
Renewing your license is simple and inexpensive, and extends driving privileges for eight years at a time. You can see if your license is valid by requesting a copy of your driving record or checking the listed expiration date.
NOTE: To learn how to renew a commercial license, visit our CDL section.
You can see if your license has expired by ordering a copy of your driving record or checking the date listed.
If your license has expired, you still have one year after expiration to go to a DMV office and renew before having to re-take the knowledge and drive tests.
Requesting a copy of your driving record can help you determine if your license has been suspended. To regain your driving privileges, you'll need to pay a $75 reinstatement fee and meet a series of requirements determined by the reason for which your license was suspended. To learn more, contact the DMV at (503) 945-5400.
It's fairly common for your auto insurance premiums to increase after your license has been suspended. To save money, try comparing rates of various carriers through our Insurance Center.
Our section on suspended licenses has more information about the process of regaining your driving privileges.
For information about requesting a duplicate driver's license, see our page on Replacing a Lost License.
The DMV sends postcards to drivers two months before their licenses expire. These renewal reminders may serve as one of the identity documents required for renewal.
If you do not receive the reminder, it does not mean you cannot renew your expiring license. However, you will need your current license or ID card in order to renew.
Unfortunately, driver's licenses can't be renewed online due to concerns about the potential for identity theft.
If you are temporarily out of the state and cannot come to your local DMV office, you may request a "Valid without Photo" driver license packet by calling the DMV at (503) 945-5400. Mail the form in with your fee and renewal license will be mailed back to you.
To renew your driver's license in person:
- Provide proof of identity, Social Security number, and legal presence in the United States.
- If your address has changed, provide proof of address.
- Answer a series of medical questions that will determine if you have any conditions that may affect your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle.
- If you are 50 or older, pass a DMV vision screening.
- Take the written and driving tests if your license has been expired for one year or more.
- Pay renewal fee of $39 for a regular Class C non-commercial license. Credit cards and debit cards will not be accepted, so be ready to pay by cash or check.
Renewal must be done in person at a DMV location. For the shortest wait times, plan your visit before noon, in the middle of the week, and/or in the middle of the month.
After renewing your driver's license, you may want to complete a supplemental traffic school course. This can refresh your memory regarding the rules of the road while possibly reducing your insurance payments. If your current insurance carrier doesn't offer a discount for course completion, consider shopping our Insurance Center for a new policy.Other Topics in This Section