Renewing Your CDL in Oregon

Pass Your CDL Written Exam with
DMV Cheatsheets!

Get answers, save time and pass your CDL exam test the first time around. DMV Cheat Sheets advantages:

  • Use Your Computer, Tablet or Mobile Phone
  • Study When & Where You Want
  • 24/7 Online Access

Simply print and pass or your money back guaranteed.

Renewal Notices

Drivers looking to renew their Oregon commercial driver licenses (CDLs) must appear in person at a DMV office. Licenses are issued and renewed for 8 years at a time.

The DMV sends renewal notices by mail to most CDL holders 2 months before expiration of their commercial licenses. For hazardous material (hazmat)-endorsed CDL holders, notices are mailed before expiration to allow time for a Transportation Security Administration (TSA) criminal background check.

Drivers may not necessarily receive these notices, but that does not prohibit them from renewing. Again though, renewal can only be done in person, and all applicants must meet certain requirements.

How to Renew

CDL renewal in Oregon starts with your renewal notice and current driver license, which must be presented as proof of age and identity. If you did not receive a renewal, you will only be required to present proper identification. Drivers with changed addresses must show proof of new address, and applicants who are 50 years old or older must undergo a DMV vision screening.

Hazardous materials endorsement renewal requires you to pay for and pass a hazmat knowledge test ($10), as well as a TSA criminal background check.

CDL renewal also requires you to show a valid Department of Transportation (DOT) Medical Card, or waiver/exemption.


The fee for renewal of class A, B, and C commercial licenses in Oregon is $61.50.

How Long a Renewal is Valid

All fees for originals, renewals, or upgrades of licenses are for 8 years only. An upgrade of a CDL in Oregon is $75.50 for 8 years. A CDL upgrade with renewal (has existing CDL) is $137 for 8 years, and downgrade of a CDL is $26.50. The Oregon DMV does not accept credit or debit cards, but does accept checks with proper ID, and cash, with ATM machines available at most DMV locations.

New Federal Requirements

You must self-certify your type of vehicle operation with the Oregon DMV. This means you must self-certify one of the following driving categories:

  • Non-Excepted Interstate
  • Excepted Interstate
  • Non-Excepted Intrastate
  • Excepted Intrastate

If you choose Non-Excepted Interstate, you must, in addition to a completed self-certification application, provide the DMV with a federal medical certificate.

Visit Oregon's FAQ page for more information.

Compare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

Related Content

Provide Feedback

Be a Hero
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 0

heroes have registered as organ donors.

Find Your
Local DMV Office
Looking for Renewing Your CDL in Another State?