Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in Oregon
Public roads can be dangerous, and no matter how safe you are there still remains a chance that you may be involved in an accident. Because of this, the state of Oregon requires motorcyclists to have have motorcycle insurance to help ensure that riders remain financially responsible in the unfortunate even of a crash.
Oregon Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
According to Oregon's motorcycle insurance laws, you are required to have liability insurance to help cover costs associated with property damage or bodily injuries you cause to others in an accident for which you are found at-fault.
Your motorcycle insurance policy must include the following minimum coverage limits per accident:
- $50,000/crash: bodily injury to another party.
- $20,000/crash: property damage to another party.
- $25,000/person and $50,000 per crash of Uninsured Motorist Coverage.
There are more types of coverage you can buy, too. For example, you can buy coverage that covers a rental car. You may also want to have higher amounts of coverage, especially if you have assets to protect. Keep this in mind as you get a motorcycle insurance quote.
Get several quotes. Your premium costs are affected by many factors, including your age, your driving record, and whether you have all your insurance provided by one company (which may offer you a discount for doing so).
A Note About No-Fault Insurance
Oregon is one of several "no-fault" states. This means that drivers must carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage to help pay for their own injury-related costs after an accident no matter who is found at-fault.
This requirement does not apply to motorcycles. PIP is not required as part of your motorcycle insurance policy.
How Coverage Affects Helmet Requirements
Everyone must wear a helmet, no matter the age. Whether or not you wear a helmet will not affect your insurance costs.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
The state allows you several different methods to prove you’re insured. While you’re using your motorcycle, you should have one of the following:
- The actual insurance card provided by your motorcycle insurance agent of company.
- The actual insurance policy.
- Official signed letter from the insurance agent, stating that you are insured and what your policy number, license plate, and name is.
If you are a dealer, you will provide either:
- An Oregon auto dealer license plate.
- A DMV Certificate of Self-Insurance.
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility
Having no insurance when you are in an accident or pulled over for a traffic citation can result in:
- License suspension.
- The necessity of filing an SR-22 certificate proving your financial responsibility with the DMV for the next three years.
- Fines and penalties.
Random Insurance Checks
In addition to your physical proof of insurance that you must carry, the DMV picks names out of a hat to check on whether they are keeping up with insurance. You might receive a letter asking you for your motorcycle insurance policy number and company name. Then the DMV calls the insurance company and asks if you are covered.
If you never respond to the letter, your license will be suspended (another reason to notify the DMV of any change of address).
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!