Change of Address in OregonPage Overview
Although there are any number of things that may take precedence over changing your address on your Oregon driver license or identification card when moving and changing address, the law actually requires that the Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division (DMV) is notified of your address changes within 30 days of moving.
The DMV will then update its records, including not only your driver license, but related vehicle registration and mailing address for all correspondence.
The good news is that changing your address with the Oregon DMV can be done relatively simply online, by mail, or in person.
For drivers or ID holders whose cards and permits are currently valid, the Oregon DMV will mail you an address sticker to place over the previous address on the license, ID card, or permit.
You can either update your address online, using the Online Change of Address system, or by returning a completed Change of Address Notice for DMV Records (Form 735-6438) to the Oregon DMV in person or by mail.
Once an address change request has been submitted to the DMV, drivers are supposed to write the new address on their vehicle registration cards, which must remain in vehicles.
The DMV will not send a new vehicle registration card unless you request it with an Application for Registration, Renewal, Replacement or Transfer of Plates and/or Stickers (Form 735-268), and pay the $5 fee for a replacement registration card. Then turn in the form and fee to a DMV location, or mail to:
- DMV Headquarters
- 1905 Lana Ave NE
- Salem, OR 97314
If you have a license with address sticker that has been damaged or otherwise become illegible, you may request a replacement sticker by calling the DMV at (503) 945-5000 or by submitting DMV Driver Related Inquiry/Request Form
There is no charge for the replacement stickers.
If you do not want an address sticker and would prefer a new license or ID card with your new address shown on it, visit a DMV office and do the following:
- Submit a completed Application for Driving Privileges or ID Card (Form 735-173) or Commercial Driver License Application (Form 735-175).
- Provide proof of your full legal name.
- Provide proof of your legal U.S. presence.
- Provide proof of your address, which can include a utility bill or rental agreement.
- Have your photo taken.
- Pay the $26.50 driver's license fee or $39.50 ID card fee.
The Oregon DMV does not accept credit or debit cards, but does accept checks with proper identification, and ATMs are available at most DMV locations. Remember that hours and services vary by location so make sure to verify them before you visit a particular office.
Address changes with the Oregon DMV also include a chance to register or re-register to vote. A change to your address with the DMV does not change your voter registration address unless you request it.
If you need to change your name on your driver's license or motor vehicle documents, see our Changing Your Name in Oregon page.
You may need to change your name for reasons including:
- Court order.