Commercial Driver FAQs in Oregon
Get Free Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes from Multiple Providers
Enter Your Zip Code:
When do I need a CDL in Oregon?
The Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires a CDL for operation of vehicles weighing more than 26,000 pounds, vehicles carrying 16 or more people including the driver, or vehicles used to transport hazardous materials.
Are there any exceptions for farm vehicles, police or other emergency personnel, or others?
The exceptions for an Oregon CDL are:
- Recreational vehicles (RVs) operated only for personal use.
- Certain farm vehicles when the driver is operating within a farm property.
- Emergency fire vehicles operated by firefighters.
- Emergency vehicles operated by emergency service workers.
How do I obtain a CDL in Oregon?
Do I need a CDL instruction permit before applying for a CDL in Oregon?
Drivers may need practice or training for the Oregon CDL, and can obtain it with a CDL instruction permit. A learner's permit is not required for you to take the commercial drive test. However, the Oregon CDL instruction permit is required for you to take a CDL third party test.
Can I get an Oregon CDL if I have a CDL from another state?
A driver who is new to Oregon must obtain and study the Oregon Driver Manual, provide proof of identification and residence, pass the Class C non-commercial general knowledge test, pass a vision screening test, turn in your out-of-state CDL and pay the appropriate fees.
DMV may waive the drive tests if the same driving privileges are being granted in Oregon as in the previous state. To retain hazardous materials endorsement, drivers must pass a TSA criminal background check.
Do I need to reapply for an Oregon CDL if I left the state, moved back and still have a valid Oregon CDL?
If your Oregon CDL is still valid, or has been expired for less than one year, you must provide proof of identification and residence, provide a valid medical card or waiver, turn in any out-of-state CDL you possess, and pay the CDL issuance fee, replacement fee, or renewal fee for the regular non-commercial driver license. (If your Oregon CDL included a hazmat endorsement, you may be subject to a TSA background check).
What if I've lost my Oregon CDL?
Replacements for Oregon CDLs that are lost, stolen or destroyed are available at regular and full-service DMVs for $26.50, provided the DMV has a photo on file or you present proper identification.
How long are Oregon CDLs valid?
Can I get Oregon Driver Manuals on the Internet?
Yes, manuals, including the CDL Driver Manual are available online.
How much does it cost to get a CDL in Oregon?
Drivers who wish to obtain a CDL in Oregon must pay for the basic and other appropriate knowledge tests ($10 each), the driving test ($70), the Certificate of Test Completion ($40), and the license fee ($70). CDL renewals are $61.50 and replacements are $26.50. The test to remove the air brakes restriction is $56.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.