Applying for a New License (Drivers 18+) in OregonDMV Cheat Sheet - Special Offer
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It’s like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle & CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
- New to Oregon?
- Types of Driver's Licenses in OR
- Apply for an Oregon Driver's License
- Fees for an Oregon Driver's License
- Driver's Licenses for Non-U.S. Citizens
- Related Content
Verified As Of: 04/24/2015?Our goal is to give you the most up-to-date, accurate information about your state DMV's processes. The date you see here reflects the most recent time we've verified this information with your state DMV. When they change something, we do, too!
This page will help you obtain your first driver's license from the Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division (DMV).
NOTE: If you're under 18 years old, please follow the instructions on our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) page.
Freshly arrived as a new resident in the beaver state? That means it's time to lock down an Oregon driver's license!
Even if your out-of-state license is still valid, you'll need an Oregon driver's license if you're now officially a resident of the state. That means you're either:
- Located in Oregon for 6 months or more of every year.
- Paying resident tuition fees.
- Fulfilling some other criterion of residency, which is detailed on the state DMV site.
To transfer your out-of-state driver's license, follow the application instructions outlined below.
If your valid out-of-state driver's license has been expired for less than 1 year, the OR DMV may waive the driving test, which is otherwise required of first-time applicants.
NOTE: You must surrender your out-of-state driver's license upon application.
In Oregon, there are different types of driver's licenses you can apply for:
- Class C: To operate a standard car.
- Instruction permit: For those 15 to 17 years old.
- Provisional driver’s license: For those 16 to 17 years old.
- Commercial driver’s license (CDL): Has various endorsements.
- Motorcycle endorsement.
To get a new driver's license in Oregon, you'll need to apply in person at your local Oregon DMV office. You'll need to submit:
- A completed Application for Driving Privileges or ID Card (Form 735-173).
- Proof of your full legal name.
- Proof of your U.S. legal presence.
- Your Social Security number (SSN).
- Proof of your Oregon address.
- Payment for the required fees.
For more information about the documents required, visit the Oregon DMV website.
You'll also be required to successfully pass the:
- Class C knowledge test.
- Road test.
- Vision exam.
NOTE: If you have a valid out-of-state driver's license, your driving test may be waived. You must surrender your out-of-state driver's license.
Once you've passed all of the exams, you'll need to get your photo taken so the OR DMV can issue you your new driver's license.
Written and Driving Exams
The written knowledge exam will cover everything from road signs and traffic laws to safe driving practices. This multiple-choice exam is based on information found in the Oregon Driver's Manual.
During your road skills test, you will need to show that you have the adequate skills to handle a car and follow the road rules. You must obey all traffic rules and signals, and prove you have general driving ability.
NOTE: You must submit proof of your car insurance to the OR DMV before you will be able to take the driving test.
You'll need to pay the following fees when you apply for an Oregon driver's license:
- Driver's license: $60.
- Written knowledge test: $5.
- Road test: $9.
OR DMV offices accept payment by:
- Check. (checks and money orders must be payable to "Oregon DMV")
Credit and debit cards are not accepted.
To successfully apply for an Oregon driver's license, you'll need to demonstrate to the DMV that you're a U.S. citizen or a legal permanent/temporary resident.
Such proof can come in the form of any number of documents, such as your:
- Birth certificate issued by the U.S. government.
- U.S. Consular Report of Birth Abroad.
- Valid foreign passport and a print out of your I-94.
Check out the complete list of accepted documents at the Oregon DMV website.Recommended ArticlesOther Topics in This Section