Traffic Tickets in Oklahoma
Continue reading below for information about traffic tickets in Oklahoma.
Traffic ticket fines, surcharges, and court fees in Oklahoma vary by violation and county court.
Your Oklahoma traffic ticket should give you your total fine amount. If you have any questions regarding the charges, contact the traffic court listed on the ticket.
NOTE: Some serious violations may result in an automatic driver’s license suspension.
Driving Record Points
When you are convicted of a traffic offense, points will be added to your driving record. If you accumulate 10 points or more within 5 years, the Department of Public Safety (DPS) will suspend your driver’s license.
For more information, visit our page about the DMV Point System in Oklahoma.
NOTE: Your car insurance may go up when you receive driving record points. To ensure you're getting the lowest rate, compare car insurance quotes online.
Your payment options for a traffic ticket in Oklahoma will vary by county court. Check your traffic ticket or contact the appropriate OK traffic court for specific instructions.
Generally, you may be able to pay your OK traffic ticket:
- By mail.
- By phone.
- In person.
Your OK traffic ticket will contain all the instructions you need. If you lost your traffic ticket, contact the appropriate county court directly.
NOTE: Be sure to submit your payment in time. Failure to do so may result in additional fines and penalties, including a driver's license suspension.
If you plan to fight your ticket in Oklahoma, you can plead “not guilty" in court at the date specified on your traffic ticket.
You may want to bring a traffic ticket attorney with you to your hearing to help your case.
For further instructions, check your traffic ticket or contact the appropriate Oklahoma traffic court.
NOTE: Failure to respond to your traffic ticket may result in a driver's license suspension, additional fines, and a warrant for your arrest.
If you've misplaced your Oklahoma traffic ticket, you'll need to contact the traffic court in the county where your received it. The court will be able to provide your ticket information, such as:
- Total fine amount.
- Payment deadlines.
- Payment methods.
- Court date.
Be prepared to provide your personal information, including your driver's license and license plate numbers.
When you're convicted of a traffic ticket in Oklahoma as a commercial driver, you must notify your employer within 30 days. This rule applies regardless of the type of vehicle you were driving; commercial or personal vehicle.
For the following major offenses, you'll lose your driver's license for 1 year (for your 1st offense):
- Refusing to submit to a sobriety test.
- Driving a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% or higher.
- Driving a commercial vehicle under the influence of a controlled substance.
- Leaving the scene of an accident involving your commercial vehicle.
- Fatality caused by negligent use of a commercial vehicle.
- A felony involving the use of a commercial vehicle (this also includes making, dispensing and distributing a controlled substance)
- Driving a commercial vehicle while your license is suspended, revoked, cancelled or you have been disqualified to drive a commercial vehicle.
For more information, visit our CDL Suspension page.
View our Traffic Ticket FAQ page to learn about the following topics and more:
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!