Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Suspended CDL in Oklahoma

    Commercial Driver’s License Suspensions in Oklahoma

    If your Oklahoma commercial driver’s license (CDL) was suspended, disqualified, or revoked by the Department of Public Safety (DPS), you’ll need to satisfy the requirements of your offense to reinstate it.

    Your CDL may be suspended/disqualified for reasons including:

    • Alcohol-related offenses, DUI/DWI convictions, and blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test refusals.
    • Serious traffic violations, such as:
      • Speeding.
      • Reckless driving.
      • Driving without the necessary endorsements.
    • Railroad crossing violations.

    On this page you’ll find information about your suspension/disqualification and how to reinstate your CDL.

    About Your Suspended CDL in OK

    The duration of your Oklahoma CDL disqualification/suspension and your reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your offense/violation.

    For information about your Oklahoma CDL suspension/disqualification, please contact the OK Department of Public Safety by:

    NOTE: Your CDL may also be suspended/disqualified for violations committed in a non-commercial vehicle. For more information, please see our Suspended License in Oklahoma page.

    Your CDL and privilege to drive a commercial vehicle are subject to federal regulations, which include the following disqualifications:

    • 1 year: 1st violation for major offenses such as:
      • DUI or drug-related offenses.
      • Refusing to submit to a BAC test.
      • Hit and runs.
      • Using your commercial vehicle in a felony.
    • 3 years: 1st violation, while transporting hazardous materials.
    • Life: 2nd violation for a major offense.
    • 60 – 120 days for multiple serious traffic violations within 3 years. These violations include:
      • Speeding.
      • Reckless driving.
      • Driving without the necessary endorsements.
    • 60 – 120 days for railroad highway grade crossing violations, depending on the number of violations you’ve committed.

    For more information on federal regulations and penalties, please see the FMCSA website.

    NOTE: You must notify your employers within 30 days of receiving a traffic conviction.

    Check Your Commercial Driver’s License Status

    Along with higher insurance premiums, tickets, and fines, accumulating too many driving record points can result in your Oklahoma CDL being suspended or disqualified.

    For this reason, it’s important to keep up to date with your driving record and make sure all the information is correct. You can order your Oklahoma driving record to check your CDL status and how many violation points you have.

    Check Your Commercial Driver License Status

    Is your CDL suspended or disqualified? Check your driving record to find out.

    CDL Suspension Hearings in Oklahoma

    If you want to contest your CDL suspension/disqualification, you can request an Oklahoma DPS administrative hearing.

    NOTE: OK DPS hearings have no affect on court decisions.

    You’ll need to complete a Request for Hearing or Modified Driver’s License form and return it to the OK DPS:

    • In person at the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety office located at:
        3600 North Martin Luther King Avenue
        Oklahoma City, OK 73111
    • OR
    • By mail to the address specified on the form.
    Looking for a Commercial Driver's License Lawyer?

    Find a CDL attorney to help you with your traffic-related or DUI suspension.

    DUI Commercial Driver's License Suspensions

    If you are caught driving your commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% or higher, you will be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Oklahoma. In addition to any state penalties you receive from the OK DPS, you may face the following penalties from the court:

    • Additional CDL and driver license suspensions, which may vary in length depending on the number of convictions you’ve had.
    • A lifetime disqualification of your CDL, if you’ve received a DUI conviction in the past.
    • Installing an ignition interlock device in your personal vehicle, if you’ve had multiple convictions.
    • Jail time, which will vary depending on the circumstances of your offense.
    • Fines.

    If you refuse a BAC test when arrested on suspicion for a DUI, the Oklahoma DPS will revoke both your standard driver license and commercial driver license. To have your driver’s license reinstated, you will need to:

    • Pay reinstatement fees.
    • Complete a drug and alcohol assessment.
    • Install an ignition interlock device, depending on the circumstances of your offense.

    See “Reinstate Your OK Commercial Driver’s License” below for more information about reinstating your CDL.

    For more specific information about your suspension and reinstatement requirements, please contact the Oklahoma DPS or the court that processed your conviction.

    Reinstate Your OK Commercial Driver’s License

    The requirements to reinstate your CDL will depend on the reason for your suspension or disqualification.

    To reinstate your Oklahoma CDL, you may need to:

    • Complete the duration of your suspension/disqualification.
    • Satisfy any court requirements/fines you have outstanding.
    • Provide an SR22 from your insurance company, if necessary.
    • Pay DPS CDL processing and reinstatement fees.
    • Pass the OK CDL knowledge and driving skills tests.

    For information about your specific reinstatement requirements and fees, use the online contact form. You’ll need to provide your:

    • Full name.
    • Birth date.
    • Driver’s license number.

    Alternatively, you can call the OK DPS at (405) 425-2424.

    Obtain a Restricted License in Oklahoma

    If both your Oklahoma CDL and non-commercial driver’s license are suspended/revoked, you may be eligible for a modified or restricted license that allows you to drive to authorized locations only.

    NOTE: You cannot use a restricted driver’s license to drive a commercial vehicle.

    To request a modified driver’s license you’ll need:

    Submit the above:

    • In person to the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety office located at:
        3600 North Martin Luther King Avenue
        Oklahoma City, OK 73111
    • OR
    • By mail to:
        Oklahoma Department of Public Safety
        P.O. Box 11415
        Oklahoma City, OK 73136

    NOTE: If you accept a modified driver’s license, you cannot request an Oklahoma administrative suspension hearing.

    Compare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip: