- Location: Oklahoma
Safety Laws in OklahomaCompare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:Page Overview
Drivers and their front-seat passengers must be contained by an appropriate safety system or seat belt when riding in a vehicle.
Law enforcement officials can pull over a vehicle simply because they spot someone inside the vehicle violating this law. Drivers can be nailed with a $20 ticket per infraction. They will also be responsible for the fine for any passengers under the age of 16 violating this rule.
Children under six years old must be restrained in a federally-approved safety seat when riding in a vehicle.
Children between the ages of six and 12 must be restrained by an appropriate safety system or seat belt.
If you're in the market for one, you can shop online for a child car seat at any time. When ordering, be sure the car seat matches your child's height, weight and age.
If needed, the state provides helpful information on selecting the proper child safety restraint system.
Drivers must use their low beams when within 1,000 feet of an approaching vehicle, and within 600 feet of a vehicle heading in the same direction.
Headlights must be turned on between 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise, and any other time when visibility is impaired.
Cell phone restrictions:
- Learner permit and intermediate license holders are banned from using hand-held cell phones while driving.
- Learner permit and intermediate license holders are banned from texting while driving.
Everyone under the age of 18 riding on a motorcycle must wear a federally-approved safety helmet.
Also, riders of all ages must have some sort of eye protection (such as goggles) while riding on cycle, unless the bike is equipped with a windshield.
Although Oklahoma doesn't have any laws specifically addressing the issue of leaving children unattended in a vehicle, knowingly putting a child in a dangerous situation is considered child endangerment, so use common sense. Children (and pets) are more affected by heat and cold than adults, so they can become ill or die when left in a car. Unattended children can also play with the parking brake and cause an accident, and may prove to be an attractive kidnapping target.
Call 911. Oklahoma doesn't have a centralized number to call to report drunk or other types of dangerous drivers.Other Topics in This Section
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
- Werner Herzog’s Texting-and-Driving Documentary Slated to Hit Hard
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- California Bans Use of Cell Phone GPS While Driving
- Teen Driver Safety: Seat Belt Use
- Headlight Laws Vary Little Throughout the Nation