Replacing a Lost Registration in Oklahoma
Registering a car?
It's a good time to check car insurance rates
Find the lowest rate among top providers.Page Overview
Replace an Oklahoma Registration
If your vehicle registration, license plates, or plate decals are lost, stolen, or damaged, you'll need to request a replacement from the Oklahoma Tax Commission (OTC).
Since a valid registration certificate and license plate are required to operate a vehicle, you should apply for duplicates as soon as possible to avoid being cited and fined for failure to display a valid registration.
If your vehicle title is missing, you'll find the relevant information on our page, Replacing a Lost Title in Oklahoma.
You can replace your lost, stolen, or damaged registration papers through your local tag office. Replacements can be requested:
- By mail.
- In person.
The fee for a duplicate registration is $9.00. Additional fees may apply.
Contact the OTC at (405) 521-3221 or call your local tag office for total fees and required forms.
Lost Renewal Notice
If your registration renewal notice has not arrived and you need to renew your vehicle registration, you don't need to worry. The notice is not required, so you can renew your registration at your local tag office with:
- Your tag, title, or VIN number.
- Proof of insurance.
- Payment for renewal fees.
If you prefer e-mail reminders, you can let the tag agent know or use the CARS online system to set up email notifications.
If your license plate or decal is lost, stolen, or damaged, you can request a replacement:
- By mail to the OTC.
- In person at your local tag office.
NOTE: You cannot receive a duplicate license plate if your tags were seized, unless you have paid all of your fines and include a release from the county sheriff.
To apply for a replacement, you'll need:
- The Affidavit for Replacement License Plate/Decals (Form 797-D).
- Proof of car insurance.
- Payment for replacement fees:
- $12 for a decal.
- $13.50 for a new license plate and decal.
If you're submitting the application and payment by mail, send the materials to:
Oklahoma Tax Commission - Motor Vehicles Division
2501 North Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, OK 73194
To submit your application and payment in person, visit your local tag office.
Be sure that you include or take payment for the appropriate fee:
- The fee for a replacement decal is $12:
- $9.00, for the decal.
- $1.50 insurance fee.
- $1.50 mail fee.
- The fee for a replacement license plate and decal is $13.50:
- $9.00 for the tag and decal.
- $1.50 insurance fee.
- $3.00 mail fee.
NOTE: If you request a replacement tag when you renew your registration, the replacement fee is $4. For more information, see our page Registration Renewal in Oklahoma.
You are not required to report lost or stolen vehicle registrations, tags, or deals to the police. However, you can report the loss or theft to your local law enforcement agency if you are concerned.
Filing a police report can protect you against fraudulent use of your registration or license plate, and it can also be helpful if you are stopped by the police while awaiting your replacements.Other Topics in This Section