Accident Guide in Oklahoma
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Accidents happen to all of us. Most of the time, state or local law enforcement works motor vehicle accidents, and submits forms to the appropriate authorities.
But if you are involved in a wreck that law enforcement does not work, you're required to submit a report to the Department of Public Safety if injury, death, or property damage over $300 occurs as a result of the accident.
Oklahoma assesses penalties if you fail to report an accident. Your license could be suspended for up to 30 days, so be sure to report the accident as soon as possible.
Check out the Oklahoma Driver's Manual for instructions on what to do in case of a collision to help avoid penalties.
Conveniently, we provide information about attorneys who specialize in these kinds of cases.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.