- Location: Ohio
DMV Point System in OhioCompare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:Page Overview
Chances are if you're reading this you recently have been ticketed for a traffic violation, or you have accumulated a lot of points on your license. Either way, you're probably not in a good mood. So, no fooling around here―just the facts and information you need to know about Ohio's point system.
Let's start with the basics, and move on from there. Here is a list of possible violations, and the number of points each carries:
- Homicide by vehicle
- Operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or any drug of abuse
- Failure to stop and disclose identity at the scene of a crash
- Willingly fleeing or eluding a law enforcement officer
- Drag racing
- Operating a motor vehicle without the consent of the owner
- Operating a motor vehicle while your license is under suspension or revocation
- Using a motor vehicle in the commission of a felony, or committing any crime punishable as a felony under Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws
- Willful or wanton disregard of the safety of persons or property
- Operating a vehicle after under-age alcohol consumption
- All other moving violations except those pertaining to load limits
- Operating a motor vehicle in violation of a restriction imposed by the Registrar of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles
A BMV administrative ruling has determined that points stay on your driving record for three years.
If you're caught speeding, you will generally be assessed a penalty of either two or four points. Examples of two-point violations include going 10-30 miles per hour (mph) over the limit in an area with a speed limit of 55 mph or more. Or driving 5-30 mph over the limit in an area where the speed limit is 55 mph or less. Four-point violations include driving 30 mph or more over the limit in any zone.
In some instances, no points will be applied for speeding. Examples of this include driving less than 10 mph over the limit in an area where the limit is 55 mph or greater. Or, being 5 mph or less over the limit in areas where the limit is under 55 mph.
If you accumulate six points on your license within a two-year period, you'll receive a warning letter. If you accumulate 12 or more in that period, your driving privileges will be suspended for six months. After that period, you'll need to take a remedial driving course. Then you'll have to take the driving test again.
If you're caught driving while on suspension, you will be guilty of a first-degree misdemeanor and also face a possible $1,000 fine or six months in jail―or both. You may also lose your license for another year.
Whenever you need or want to check the status of your driver’s license, you can order a driving record report. This record will spell out if your driver’s license is currently valid. Should your license have been revoked or suspended, the report will indicate that according to what’s on record at the BMV. This report will also show points against your license and, in some cases, information on any accidents you have had.
If you have two to 11 points on your license, you are eligible to take a remedial driving course approved by the Department of Public Safety, where you will receive a two-point credit. (See a list of approved schools that offer this course.)
However, completing this course does not mean that two points will be taken off your license. Instead, it means that your license will be suspended if you reach 14 points, not 12. You can take this course up to five times, but no more than once every three years.
Accumulating points on your license can possibly result in higher insurance premiums. Sometimes all it takes is a two-point violation. Check with your agent or insurance company for details.
The Ohio Insurance Institute presents more information on Ohio's point system, including the progressive point system for speeding.