Other Vehicle Registrations in Ohio
For a simplified registration renewal, you can use an independent agency for an additional fee. See below for more details.
Recent advancements in the industry have led to a much easier experience for renewing your auto registration. Although it's now possible to renew your registration online via your local DMV, you may prefer the convenience and service provided by our approved partner. For a modest $16.75 convenience fee, you'll be assisted every step of the way by a renewal expert.
|Service Comparison||State Agency|
|Auto Renew Annually||No|
|Instant Status Check Tool||No|
|Available Nights & Weekends||No|
|No-Hold Phone Support||No|
|Learn More||Do it for me|
Snowmobiles are categorized as self-propelled vehicles that are steered by skis, caterpillar treads, or runners, and are meant to be used mostly on ice or snow.
An all-purpose vehicle (APV) is defined as a self-propelled vehicle that is steered by wheels or caterpillar treads, and is designed primarily for cross-country travel on land or water.
While this definition is not meant to include utility vehicles or even things like golf carts, it does include all-terrain vehicles, trail bikes, mini-bikes, all-season vehicles, or vehicles that operate on a cushion of air.
An off-highway motorcycle (OHM) or all terrain vehicle (ATV) is classified as a bike that is meant to be used primarily on land, other than a highway or street.
To operate an APV, OHM, or snowmobile on the state's public land or waterways, you'll need to have a current operator, probationary, or commercial driver's license.
If you're under 16 years old, you'll also need to have a licensed driver who is at least 18 years old with you.
The state allows unlicensed riders younger than 16 years old to use these vehicles on state-controlled land, if they are with a currently-licensed parent or guardian who is at least 18 years old.
Titling and Registration
All the specialty vehicles we've discussed will need to be registered. However, only APV and OHM owners will need to have a title, too. And, the title must come first.
If you bought an APV or OHM from a dealer, the title must be in your name. The dealer has up to 30 days to give you the title. If you bought the vehicle from a private seller, the seller will need to assign it to you by signing the back of the title. You'll then need to apply for a new title at a title office for a $15 fee.
Once you've received your title, you must register your APV, OHM, or snowmobile at a branch office.
Registration certificates are valid for 3 years, and will expire on December 31 of the last year. The registration fee is $34.75. You may renew your registration as early as 90 days before it expires.
The registration comes with an alphanumerical decal that must be affixed to the vehicle in an easily-visible location.
If you live outside the state but want to operate an APV, OMV, or snowmobile on Ohio's public land or waterways, you'll have to apply for a temporary permit if your state doesn't have similar registration requirements to ours.
To apply for the permit, you'll need to visit a deputy registrar's office. The permit is valid for up to 1 year. You'll have to pay a $14.75 registration fee. Make sure to keep the permit handy.
If you're not sure how your state's registration laws compare to ours, you can call the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles at (614) 752-7500 to find out. Or, you can call or visit a deputy registrar's branch.
If you have a recreational vehicle (RV) or motorhome in Ohio, be sure to have it registered properly first before you take it for a spin. You can follow the same steps outlined on our Registering a Car in Ohio page. Fees may vary based on your RV's weight.
Registering your custom-built car in Ohio follows the same process as registering a regular car; however, you'll need to have it inspected first.
You'll need to bring all required documents as listed on the Ohio BMV website.
Once you've completed the inspection, follow the steps outlined on our Ohio Vehicle Registration page to have your vehicle registered and ready to drive.
You must register mopeds AND scooters in Ohio, just as you would register a car.
A moped is a vehicle with:
- 2 wheels OR 3 wheels (1 front and 2 rear) that are:
- At least 19 inches in diameter.
- At least 1.75 inches wide.
- At least 19 inches in diameter.
- Pedals to propel the vehicle.
- A motor of more than 50 cc and 1 HP.
- Able to achieve speeds over 20 MPH.
You'll find more details on our scooter and moped page.
Whether you're buying or selling a vehicle, getting your vehicle history report (VIN Check) is an important steps to take. Knowing your vehicle's history provides peace of mind and confidence in the purchase.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!