Identification Cards in Ohio
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Those without a driver's license still often need to prove their identity. Some have the dubious misfortune of being mistaken for an attractive actor or actress (don't you hate that?). Most of the time, however, it's a more mundane issue―being able to cash checks, fly on a plane, buy alcohol and cigarettes, see certain movies, use a credit card, check into a hotel, or enter a nightclub.
In either case, for those who don't have a driver's license, a state identification card might be a good way to go.
First, here are a few basic facts about Ohio identification cards. To begin with, you can't have both an Ohio driver license and an ID card at the same time. Also, there's no minimum age to apply for one. The cards are valid for four years and will expire on your birthday. And, obviously, having an ID card doesn't mean that you're allowed to drive.
However, the ID card is the same shape and size as a driver license, and it is digitized. If you're over 21, the header on the card will be in green with the picture on the right. If you're under 21, the card will have a red header, and the picture will be on the left.
Visit any deputy registrar's office along with:
- Proof of full legal name.
- Proof of your date of birth.
- Proof of legal presence in the U.S.
- Your Social Security number.
- Proof of your current Ohio address.
- Payment for $8.50 ID card fee.
To avoid confusion on which documents to provide, visit the state's identification page.
Ohio ID cards are issued for a period of four years, expiring on your birthday. Currently, the only option for ID card renewal in Ohio is a visit to your local Department of Public Safety Deputy Registrar's Office to begin the process. The renewal fee for an ID card is $8.50.
Visit any deputy registrar's office with proof of name, date of birth and Social Security number. Cost: $7.50.
The BMV now allows state ID holders to register their emergency contact information with the agency. By doing so, you enable law enforcement officials to more quickly notify a family member, guardian, or friend if you're seriously injured in an accident, or are unable to communicate. Register for this service online or at any license agency location.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.