Drivers Ed in Ohio
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Drivers Ed in Ohio
If you're a teenager applying for your first driver's license, you'll need to complete a Driver's Ed course as part of the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) licensing requirements.
As a new driver, learning safe driving practices and gaining experience behind the wheel are crucial to passing your driving tests and earning your full OH driver's license.
On this page you'll find information about Ohio's Driver Ed requirements, the curriculum, and your options for completing a course.
If you're younger than 18 years old, you'll need to complete an Ohio driver's education course before you can obtain a probationary OH driver's license.
You can enroll in a Driver's Ed course when you are 15 years and 5 months old and you'll be able to apply for your OH learner's permit once you turn 15 years and 6 months old.
Give yourself a head start on your permit exam - take a practice test and pass your test on the first try!
New Ohio Residents
If you are a new Ohio resident younger than 18 years old and want to convert your out-of-state driver's license, you'll need to present proof of completion of an out-of-state driver's education course.
You'll need to submit your Driver's Ed completion certificate by mail or by fax.
- By mail:
- Ohio Department of Public Safety
- Driver Training Manager
- 1970 West Broad St
- P.O. Box 182081
- Columbus, OH 43218
- By fax: (614) 351-6015.
The Ohio BMV will review your out-of-state Driver's Ed course and either:
- Tell you which tests you'll need to pass to receive your OH driver's license, if your course meets Ohio's requirements.
- Require you to complete an additional OH driver's education course, if your out-of-state course does not meet the OH BMV's requirements.
For more information, call the Ohio BMV at (614) 466-3524.
OH driver's education will help you become familiar with safe driving practices and driving laws, and teach you how to operate a vehicle responsibly.
Your course will provide you with information that will help you pass your written test and eventually obtain your full Ohio driver's license.
Some specific topics that will be covered include:
- Traffic laws.
- Operating a vehicle.
- Emergency situations.
For a complete breakdown of your Ohio Driver's Ed curriculum, please refer to the ODPS information sheet.
Classroom & Behind-the-Wheel Hours
Regardless of which Ohio Driver's Ed method you choose (see “Types of Driver's Ed Courses" below), you'll complete:
- 24 hours of classroom education.
- 8 hours of behind-the-wheel training.
When you complete the course, your instructor will provide you with a completion certificate. You'll need to submit this certificate when you take the driving skills test.
As a new teen driver in Ohio, you can choose from a handful of methods to complete your driver's education requirements.
The Ohio BMV allows you to choose from Driver's Ed courses provided by:
- Your high school.
- Private driver's training programs.
- Online Driver's Ed courses.
- Military driver's education, if applicable.
Once you shop around and choose a program, contact your course provider for information about cost, scheduling, and other requirements.
NOTE: If you choose an online driver's education course, you'll need to find a school to complete your in-car driving instruction portion of the program.
Completing driver's education will prepare you for the next steps towards getting your Ohio driver's license.
If you don't already have your temporary learner's permit, visit your local OH BMV office and:
- Pass the written test and vision exam.
- Show proof of your identity and Social Security number (SSN).
- Have your parent or legal guardian sign your application.
Probationary Driver's License
Before you can apply for your probationary OH driver's license, you must:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Have held your learner's permit for at least 6 months.
- Complete a total of 50 hours (10 hours at night) of supervised driving and submit a Fifty Hour Affidavit (Form BMV 5791).
- Pass the driving skills test.
You will need to provide the OH DMV with:
- Proof of your identity and Ohio residency.
- Your OH Driver's Ed certificate of completion (when you take your driving skills test).
NOTE: Your parents will also need to sign your application and provide proof of their identity.
The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles website provides a complete list of acceptable documents.
For more information, please see our pages on the following topics:
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.