Drivers with Disabilities in Ohio
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
The state of Ohio issues disability placards to people who have a handicap that either limits or impairs their ability to walk. This includes individuals who:
- Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest
- Cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other devices
- Are restricted by lung disease
- Use portable oxygen
- Have a cardiac condition to the extent that the person's functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV as determined by the American Heart Association
- Are severely limited in their ability to walk, due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition
- Are blind
To receive a windhshield placard, you must complete an Application for Disability Placards form, also available at Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles branches. One removable placard at a cost of $3.50 will be issued if the application is approved.
An additional placard may also be granted, but you will need to fill out a separate application and also state why the extra placard is needed. The second placard will also cost $3.50.
The application must be accompanied by a prescription from a physician or chiropractor that contains the following information:
- Name of the applicant
- How long the disability is expected to last (an ending date must be specified)
- A specific mention that the individual is applying for a disability placard
The prescription must be signed and dated by the physician or chiropractor.
A veteran may substitute the prescription with a letter from a Veteran's Administration (VA) official on VA letterhead. The letter must contain the individual's name, disabling condition, expected length of disability, and percentage of service-connected disability.
Placards will expire on the date specified on the prescription note. However, the longest you will be able to keep the placard will be five years. After that, you will need to apply for a renewal using the same form, but you should wait to do this until you are within 90 days of the expiration date. Renewing your placard also costs $3.50.
If your placard has been lost, stolen, or damaged, complete the same form, noting the reason for replacement as well as the original placard number. The replacement cost is $3.50. A doctor's note is not required for replacement placards.
All completed applications (with fees) may be taken to any DMV Office Finderdeputy registrar's branch}. They can also be mailed to:
- Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles
- ATTN: Registration Services
- P.O. Box 16521
- Columbus, OH 43216-6521
Make checks payable to the Treasurer, State of Ohio.
For more information, call (614) 652-7800 or (800) 589-8247.
Organizations that routinely transport individuals with disabilities may also apply for disability placards, using the same form. Up to two placards per application may be issued, at a cost of $3.50 each.
If you park or stop your vehicle in a disability parking spot and don't have a placard, you have committed a misdemeanor and are subject to a fine of between $250 and $500. Even if your vehicle does have a placard, the disabled person must be either be the driver or a passenger, or you will face the same offense and fine.
Physicians or chiropractors who issue prescriptions to applicants who don't fit the disability criteria face a misdemeanor charge, up to six months in jail, and a fine of up to $1,000.
Ohio honors nonexpired disability placards and plates from other states. If you are traveling to another state and are concerned whether your Ohio disability plate or placard will be accepted there, you can check with that state's motor vehicle department, or simply check our Drivers with Disabilities section for the state in question.
Other Topics in This Section
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.