Defensive Driving in Ohio
If you have received a traffic ticket in Ohio, then a Ohio State Approved Defensive Driving Course is a great way to dismiss your traffic ticket and lose the points from your driving records. I Drive Safely is a good choice for Ohio Defensive Driving Course online.
The successful completion of a course from one of the approved Defensive Driving Course may prevent violations from damaging your driving record. While in many cases a course just might get a traffic ticket dismissed, attending traffic school can also enhance your driving knowledge and skill level, and it may increase your overall safety awareness so that you, your family, and other drivers can be safer on the roads.Page Overview
In Ohio you can take your remedial driving instruction course from a certified driver training school, or you can take it from an approved online provider. If you attend a driver's training school in person, you’ll be taught by a certified instructor, and you must be present for the entire course. In-classroom defensive driving courses are typically done on a Saturday or during the evening following school and work hours.
The online defensive driving course option is becoming more and more popular due to its flexibility. The required amount of hours must still be fulfilled, but you will be able to start and stop the course whenever you need to take a break.
If you opt for the online option, your course provider may specify a date that you must complete the course by (usually 6 months). If you do not successfully complete your course by the required date, you’ll fail the course and you won’t be eligible for a refund. Check with your course provider for specific information.
The Ohio BMV mandates that a remedial driving instruction course be a minimum of 8 hours in length.
Traffic school is divided into separate chapters all on different topics that teach you about the safe driving habits of being a responsible and more defensive driver.
Some of the main topics that you will cover during traffic school include:
- The concept of crash prevention and the cost magnitude of traffic accidents.
- The contributing factors to a vehicle crash.
- Traffic laws and regulations and highway environmental factors.
Each chapter ends with a multiple-choice quiz and at the end of your course, you'll be required to take a final exam. You’ll need to answer a pre-determined number of questions correctly in order to pass. These questions will be based on information you have covered throughout your course. Check with your chosen Ohio traffic school provider for more course information, including:
- Course fees.
- Options to retake the final exam, if you fail.
- Course duration.
- What is required to pass the final exam.
Ohio uses a point system to keep track of your driving history. Completing a defensive driving course in Ohio could allow you to:
- Remove 2 points from your driving record.
- Avoid points being added to your driving record after being charged with a traffic violation.
- Reinstate your OH driver's license.
You may need to meet the following requirements to be eligible for a point reduction or traffic ticket dismissal:
- You haven't completed a defensive driving course in the last 12 to 18 months (this may vary).
- You were not driving a commercial vehicle when you received your traffic ticket.
- You have a valid Ohio driver's license.
- You were not cited for multiple violations.
Once you receive a traffic ticket in Ohio, your local court may send you a notice to tell you if you are eligible to take a defensive driving course/traffic school to dismiss the ticket and prevent points being added to your driving record. If you do not receive a notice, or this option is not stated on your traffic ticket, you can always check with the local Ohio court handling your case.
In some cases, you may be able to receive an auto insurance discount upon completion of your defensive driving course. Check with your insurance company BEFORE you enroll.Other Topics in This Section