Commercial Driver FAQs in Ohio
Get Free Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes from Multiple Providers
Enter Your Zip Code:
Can't find the commercial driver license (CDL) information you need? We'll touch on a few topics here, and then provide you with some other good sources for this information.
If you want to add or renew a hazardous materials endorsement, you must first be fingerprinted and pass a criminal background check. You will receive instructions on how to complete the check when you submit your application for the endorsement at a deputy registrar's branch.
The BMV has prepared a wealth of information about the hazardous materials regulations, including:
Also, visit the Transportation Security Administration website for more information concerning the Patriot Act.
If you're wondering whether you'll need to stop at the highway scales to have your vehicle weighed, it will depend on the empty weight of your truck. If it's 8,000 pounds or more, you'll have to stop at the scales. This also applies to rental vehicles for personal use.
All CDL holders must pass certain minimum physical requirements to be eligible for the license. However, in some cases you may be able to obtain a medical waiver.
With a waiver, you will be able to obtain a restricted license to drive within the state of Ohio.
All waivers are administered and granted by the Ohio Public Utilities Commission (PUCO). Send a letter of application, a copy of your current physical exam, and a medical evaluation from a board-certified physician to:
- Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
- 180 East Broad St.
- Columbus, OH 43215-3793
You can also fax your documents to PUCO at (614) 752-8349.
Your request will be processed and you should receive a waiver packet in the mail with applications and complete instructions. Please call PUCO at (614) 466-3191 if you don't receive a packet, or if you have further questions.
As a CDL holder, you are subject to stiffer penalties than other drivers if you misuse the license or drive dangerously.
You can have your CDL suspended―or revoked―for a variety of offenses. Here are some possible violations, and the penalties associated with them:
- Two serious traffic violations within a three-year period - 60-day suspension
- Three serious traffic violations within a three-year period - 120-day suspension
- First-time convictions for driving under the influence, leaving the scene of a traffic crash, using a commercial vehicle during a felony, or refusing to submit to alcohol testing - one-year suspension
Note: If any of these offenses occur while operating a vehicle placarded for hazardous materials, the penalties are for three years.
You can even have your license suspended for life for a second conviction of any of the following: driving under the influence, leaving the scene of a traffic crash, using a commercial vehicle during a felony, or refusing to submit to alcohol testing.
It is illegal in Ohio to have any amount of alcohol in your blood while operating a commercial vehicle. If any amount is detected, you can immediately receive a 24-hour out-of-service order.
If your license is suspended, revoked, or canceled, you must notify your employer no later than the next business day.
You must also tell your employer in writing within 30 days of any traffic convictions you have received. This includes convictions obtained in your own private vehicle.
If you've had any out-of-state convictions, you have 30 days to notify the OH BMV of the offense. Send notification to:
- Bureau of Motor Vehicles
- P.O. Box 16784
- Columbus, OH 43266-0084
Among the worthwhile information you'll find are discussions on license disqualification, serious traffic offenses, physical qualifications and examinations, and the rules concerning alcohol and driving with a CDL.
Another option is to check the OH BMV Frequently Asked Questions page.
You will find a handful of questions and answers there, covering areas such as health issues and vehicle weight restrictions.
One other possible place to look is at the Ohio Revised Code. Click on "Title XLV" and then click on chapter 4506 for commercial driver guidelines and regulations.
You can also search the code by browsing through the topics. Or, you may enter a keyword search.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
Instant Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record.
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.