Traffic Tickets in New YorkInternet Point and Insurance Reduction Program (IPRIP)
100% streaming video course
When you enroll in a New York state approved point and insurance reduction course, you:
- Receive a state mandated 10% reduction in the base rate of your auto or motorcycle insurance premiums.
- Refresh your knowledge of the state road laws and defensive driving techniques.
- May be eligible to reduce up to 4 points from your New York driving record.
Find a DMV Approved
New York Point and Insurance Reduction Course Online:Page Overview
Browse this page to learn about traffic fines and penalties, paying your ticket, and what to do if you’ve lost your traffic ticket.
NOTE: In most of New York, non-criminal traffic tickets are processed by the local city, town, or village criminal or traffic courts, not the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). However, in New York City, Buffalo, and Rochester, the Traffic Violations Bureau (TVB) of the NY DMV will handle your ticket.
Traffic fines in New York and other costs associated will depend on various factors, such as the:
- Type of violation.
- Number of points on your driving record.
- Court handling your case.
- County where you received the ticket.
Typically, your fine amount will be listed on your traffic ticket. However, if a NY State Police officer ticketed you, you’ll need to call the court handling your case or the TVB for the total amount.
Your fine amount will depend on the severity of your offense and the type of ticket you received (e.g., speeding ticket, red light ticket).
NOTE: If you accumulate 6 points or more on your driving record within 18 months, you will be subject to additional fines and penalties. Our NY Point System page has more information.
If you’re a commercial driver, see Fines & Penalties for Commercial Drivers below.
The method to pay your traffic ticket will depend on where you received the ticket. If you received it in Buffalo, Rochester, or New York City, you will have a TVB ticket.
You can pay this traffic ticket:
- In person before a judge or clerk.
- By phone.
- By mail.
If you have non-TVB traffic ticket, check your ticket for payment options or contact the traffic court responsible.
For more information, see our Paying Traffic Tickets page.
NOTE: Traffic tickets can result in points added to your driving record. Points may be removed by completing a state-approved defensive driving course. For more information, please visit our DMV Point System page.
If you plan to fight your traffic ticket in New York, you must file your appeal within 30 days of receiving the ticket, as you could face an automatic conviction and be required to pay the fine.
NOTE: Consider hiring a traffic ticket attorney if your ticket indicates you must submit your plea in person.
You’ll either be dealing with your local courthouse or the Traffic Violations Bureau (TVB). If your ticket is handled by the TVB, you can plead not guilty by mail, in person, or online. Instructions can be found on the back of your ticket.
Options to plead guilty to a non-TVB traffic ticket will vary depending on the court handling your case.
If you lose your traffic ticket appeal, you may want to complete traffic school or a defensive-driving course.
For more information, please visit our How to Fight a Traffic Ticket in New York page.
Check Your Driving Record
Car insurance companies can increase your premiums if you accumulate points on your driving record? Sometimes, all it takes is one speeding ticket to send your rates through the roof.
Check your driving record to make sure it’s accurate and you aren’t paying more than you should be.
If you have a TVB traffic ticket, you can request a replacement traffic ticket on the TVB website.
If your traffic ticket is not handled by the TVB, you will need to contact the local county, city, town, or village traffic court where you received the citation.
A list of courthouses can be found online.
If you receive a traffic ticket in New York as a commercial driver, you must notify your employer within 30 days of conviction. You must also notify the NYS DMV, within 30 days, of convictions that occur out of state.
If you commit a serious traffic violation, you may face a driver’s license suspension or revocation in addition to a heavy fine.
If you’re facing a conviction for a major violation, you may want to consider hiring a traffic attorney who can guide you through the process.
Didn’t find what you’re looking for? Our Traffic Ticket FAQ page has more information on topics, such as:
Other Topics in This Section
- Tickets for minors with learner’s permits.
- Defensive driving courses.
- Hiring a traffic ticket attorney.