Plate Surrender in New York
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Moving out of state? Be prepared to surrender your NY license plates. Learn more about this scenario and other title-transfer situations by reading below.
You have 30 days after becoming a New York state resident to register your car with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You do not need to surrender your old license plates, unless required by your former state’s DMV.
Before registering, check out New York’s list of specialized license plates.
For more on New York, your new home, visit our relocation guide.
Surrendering your New York license plates is not an option, but a mandate. The DMV wants them back. You can drop them off at any DMV office before you move, or mail to:
- Riverhead Office―NYSDMV
- 200 Old Country Road, Route 58
- Riverhead, NY 11901
For additional relocation information, visit our Moving Out of New York page.
The license plates stay with you. Remove before handing over the car keys and signing over the title. You can then transfer the plates to a car that’s under your name and of the same type.
If you decide not to transfer, surrender the plates to any DMV location.
For the full scoop on selling your vehicle, jump over to our Vehicle Title Transfers page.
The seller removes the plates. They do not stay with the car. If needed, obtain an in-transit permit from your local DMV office. Valid for 30 days, the permit must be displayed in the car’s rearview window. Cost: $12.50.
Jump on to our Vehicle Title Transfers for more information on buying car procedures.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.