Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Suspended License in Nevada

    Driver’s License Suspension in Nevada

    If your Nevada driver’s license was suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), you’ll need to satisfy the requirements of your suspension to reinstate it.

    Your driver’s license may be suspended for reasons including:

    • Accumulating too many driving record points.
    • Driving under the influence (DUI/DWI) of drugs/alcohol.
    • Accidents involving bicyclists or pedestrians.
    • Violating insurance laws and failing to maintain financial responsibility.
    • Street racing.
    • Failing to appear in court.

    On this page, you’ll find information about your suspension and how to reinstate your NV driver’s license.

    About Your Suspended Nevada License

    The duration of your suspension and your reinstatement requirements will vary depending on the reason for your suspension.

    NOTE: If you were convicted of a crime, you may also face additional court penalties and fines.

    When your license is suspended, the Nevada DMV will mail you a suspension notice.

    You must meet all of your reinstatement requirements before you can reinstate your driver’s license.

    For information about your suspended license, refer to your suspension notice or contact the NV DMV:

    • By e-mail using the NV DMV online contact form.
    • By mail:
        DMV Driver License Review
        555 Wright Way
        Carson City, NV 89711-0400
    • By phone:
      • Las Vegas: (702) 486-4368.
      • Reno/Carson City: (775) 684-4368.
      • Rural Nevada: (877) 368-7828.
      • TDD/hearing impaired customers: (775) 684-4904.

    Check Your Driver License Status

    Traffic violations and accidents can lead to driving record points and license suspensions/revocations.

    If you accumulate 12 points or more on your driving record within 12 months, the Nevada DMV will suspend your driver’s license for 6 months.

    Driving record points for most violations will remain on your driving record for 12 months.

    NOTE: DUI/DWI offenses and accidents resulting in injury/death will remain on your driving record permanently.

    Instant Driver Status Check - $39.95

    Former Address

    You'll be taken to BackgroundChecks.com to finalize your order.

    Instant Driving Record - Exclusively Online!

    Instant Motor Vehicle Report Includes:

    • Suspensions
    • Fines
    • Violations
    • Driving Status
    • Points
    • License Classification

    NOTICE: This is standard non-certified driving record. For a certified record, you must contact DMV

    Get your personal driver's license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.

    Suspension Hearings & Appeals in NV

    If you want to contest your suspended driver’s license, you can request a Nevada DMV administrative hearing.

    NOTE: Administrative hearings have no effect on court decisions.

    Your NV DMV suspension notice will inform you whether or not you are eligible for an administrative hearing.

    To request a hearing, you generally need to provide the following to the NV DMV:

    • Signed letter requesting a hearing.
    • Your NV driver’s license number.
    • Your suspension/revocation DMV file number.

    “IP” Suspensions

    For file numbers beginning with “IP”, you must:

    • Request a hearing within 90 days before the end of your mandatory revocation period.
    • Mail your request to one of the following hearing offices closest to you:
      • Carson City:
          555 Wright Way
          Carson City, NV 89711-0400
      • Elko:
          3920 E. Idaho Street
          Elko, NV 89801-4970
      • Las Vegas:
          2701 E. Sahara Ave.
          Las Vegas, NV 89104-4170

    Security Deposit and Failure to Appear Suspensions

    For “security deposit” and “failure to appear” suspensions, you must:

    • Submit your request:
      • Within 15 days of the beginning of your “security deposit suspension.
        OR
      • Before your failure to appear suspension begins.
    • Mail your request to:
        Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
        Central Services and Records, Processing Center, License Review
        555 Wright Way
        Carson City, NV 89711

    Insurance Law Violation Suspensions

    For insurance law violation suspensions:

    • Complete a Nevada Live Hearing Request (Form NVL-005).
    • Submit your request:
      • By fax to (775) 684-4543.
        OR
      • By mail:
          Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
          Central Services and Records, Processing Center
          555 Wright Way
          Carson City, NV 89711
    Contact a Local Attorney

    If your license has been suspended, make sure you have the legal support you need. Find a Nevada attorney near you today.

    Reinstate Your Suspended NV License

    Your reinstatement requirements will vary depending on the reason for your driver license suspension.

    To reinstate your suspended license, you may need to:

    • Satisfy court requirements, if applicable.
    • File an SR22 or proof of insurance and maintain coverage for 3 years.
    • Pass a vision test and the written driving knowledge test, if necessary.
    • Pass the driving skills test if your driver’s license has been suspended for over 1 year.
    • Install an ignition interlock device for DUI/DWI offenses, if required.
    • Pay a reinstatement fee. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your Driver’s License” below.)

    For information about your specific reinstatement requirements and fees, refer to your suspension notice or contact the NV DMV:

    • By e-mail using the DMV email contact.
    • By mail:
        DMV Driver License Review
        555 Wright Way
        Carson City, NV 89711-0400
    • By phone:
      • Las Vegas: (702) 486-4368.
      • Reno/Carson City: (775) 684-4368.
      • Rural Nevada: (877) 368-7828.
      • TDD/hearing impaired customers: (775) 684-4904.

    Obtain a Restricted Nevada License

    Depending on the circumstances of your suspended license, you may be eligible for a restricted driver’s license, which allows you to drive:

    • To and from work or school.
    • To and from the grocery store.
    • For work-related reasons.
    • For medical reasons.

    To apply for a restricted Nevada driver’s license:

    • Complete an Application for Restricted License(DMV-21).
    • Complete the appropriate sections and provide any necessary documents.
    • Submit your request in person, by mail, or by fax to the details on the form.

    Fees to Reinstate Your NV Suspended License

    Your reinstatement fees will vary depending on the circumstances of your driver’s license suspension. Below are general Nevada DMV licensing fees that may apply to your situation.

    NOTE: You may face additional court fees for offenses that result in criminal convictions.

    • Original driver’s license: $41.25.
    • Driving knowledge and skills re-tests: $10.
    • Alcohol/drug-related offense reinstatement: $120.
    • Alcohol/drug-related offense victim fee: $35.
    • Other reinstatements: $75.

    Refer to your suspension notice or contact the Nevada DMV for specific fees to reinstate your driver’s license.

    Acceptable Forms of Payment

    The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles accepts the following forms of payment for your suspended license reinstatement:

    • In person:
      • Cash
      • Check.
      • Money order.
      • Credit/debit card.
    • By mail: