Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Suspended CDL in Nevada

    Compare Commercial Vehicle Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip:

    Commercial Driver’s License Suspensions in Nevada

    If your commercial driver’s license (CDL) was disqualified or suspended by the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), you’ll need to satisfy your disqualification requirements to reinstate your CDL.

    Your CDL may be disqualified for reasons including:

    • Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol.
    • Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
    • Violating out-of-service orders.
    • Hit and runs.
    • Reckless driving.
    • Excessive speeding.

    On this page you’ll find information about your suspension/disqualification and how to reinstate your CDL in Nevada.

    About Your Suspended Nevada CDL

    Your CDL disqualification duration and reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your offense and whether or not your non-commercial driver’s license is also suspended.

    NOTE: You may also face additional court requirements and penalties if you were convicted of a crime.

    Your commercial driving privileges are subject to state and federal regulations, including disqualifications lasting:

    • 1 year for a 1st violation of a major offense, such as:
      • DUI/DWI or drug-related offenses.
      • Refusing to submit to a BAC test.
      • Hit and runs and leaving the scene of a truck accident.
      • Using a vehicle in a felony.
    • 3 years for a 1st violation of a major offense while transporting hazardous materials.
    • A lifetime for a 2nd violation of a major offense.
    • 60 - 120 days for multiple serious traffic violations within 3 years.
    • 60 - 120 days for railroad highway grade crossing violations.

    NOTE: Your CDL can be disqualified if you’re caught driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04% or higher.

    You must notify your employer:

    Within 30 days of any conviction for a traffic offense.

    • By the end of the next business day after receiving a disqualification notice.
    • The Nevada DMV will mail you a notice when your CDL is suspended/disqualified.

    For information about your suspended commercial license, refer to your suspension notice or contact the NV DMV:

    • By e-mail using the NV DMV online contact form.
    • By mail:
        DMV Driver License Review
        555 Wright Way
        Carson City, NV 89711-0400
    • By phone:
      • Las Vegas: (702) 486-4368.
      • Reno/Carson City: (775) 684-4368.
      • Rural Nevada: (877) 368-7828.
      • TDD/Hearing Impaired Customers: (775) 684-4904.

    NOTE: Your CDL can also be disqualified for non-commercial vehicle violations. For more information, please see our Suspended License in Nevada page.

    Check Your Commercial Driver’s License Status

    Traffic violations and accidents can lead to driving record points and even a disqualification of your CDL.

    If you accumulate 12 points or more on your driving record with 12 months, the Nevada DMV will suspend your non-commercial driving privileges for 6 months.

    Driving record points for most violations will remain on your driving record for 12 months.

    NOTE: DUI/DWI offenses and accidents involving injury/death will remain on your driving record permanently.

    Suspended CDL Hearings in Nevada

    If you want to contest your CDL disqualification/suspension, you may request a Nevada DMV administrative hearing.

    NOTE: Administrative hearings have no effect on court decisions.

    Your NV DMV suspension/disqualification notice will inform you whether or not you are eligible for an administrative hearing.

    To request a NV DMV hearing, you generally need to provide the DMV with:

    • A signed letter requesting a hearing.
    • Your NV driver’s license number.
    • Your disqualification/suspension file number.

    If your file number begins with “IP”, you must:

    • Request a hearing within 90 days before the end of your mandatory revocation period.
    • Mail your request to one of the following hearing offices closest to you:
      • Carson City:
          555 Wright Way
          Carson City, NV 89711-0400
      • Elko:
          3920 E. Idaho Street
          Elko, NV 89801-4970
      • Las Vegas:
          2701 E. Sahara Ave.
          Las Vegas, NV 89104-4170

    For security deposit and failure to appear suspensions, you must either:

    • Submit your request within 15 days before your security deposit suspension.
      OR
    • Before your failure to appear suspension begins.

    Mail your request to:

    Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
    Central Services and Records, Processing Center, License Review
    555 Wright Way
    Carson City, NV 89711

    Contact a Local Attorney

    Get legal advice and reinstate your CDL through a consultation with a Nevada traffic attorney near you.

    Reinstate NV Your Commercial Driver’s License

    Your reinstatement requirements for your Nevada CDL will vary depending on the reason for your CDL suspension/disqualification and whether or not your noncommercial driving privileges are also suspended.

    To reinstate your driver’s license, you may need to:

    • Satisfy court requirements, if applicable.
    • Pass a vision test.
    • Pass the commercial driving skills and knowledge tests.
    • Pay a reinstatement fee. (See Fees to Reinstate Your CDL in Nevada below.)

    For information about your specific reinstatement requirements and fees for Nevada CDLs, refer to your suspension/disqualification notice or contact the NV DMV:

    • By e-mailing us online.
    • By mail:
        DMV Driver License Review
        555 Wright Way
        Carson City, NV 89711-0400
    • By phone:
      • Las Vegas: (702) 486-4368.
      • Reno/Carson City: (775) 684-4368.
      • Rural Nevada: (877) 368-7828.
      • TDD/hearing impaired customers: (775) 684-4904.

    Fees to Reinstate Your Nevada CDL

    Fees to reinstate your NV commercial driver’s license will vary depending on the reason for your disqualification/suspension. Below are general Nevada DMV fees that may apply to your situation.

    • CDL reinstatement: $110 or $145, depending on your offense.
    • Non-commercial reinstatement fee (added to commercial fees, if required): $75 or $120, depending on your offense.
    • Clearance letter and drive record (in addition to your reinstatement fee):$13.
    • DUI conviction victim fee: $35.

    You may be subject to additional or different fees, depending upon your particular offense(s) and circumstances. For specific fees to reinstate your CDL, refer to your suspension notice or contact the Nevada DMV.

    Acceptable Forms of Payment

    The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles accepts the following forms of payment:

    • In person:
      • Cash.
      • Check.
      • Money order.
      • Credit/debit card.
    • By mail: