Safety Laws in Nevada
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Headlights must be used from 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise, and whenever conditions make it impossible to see clearly at least 1,000 feet ahead.
High beams should not be used within 500 feet of approaching traffic, or 300 feet of trailing traffic.
Anyone six years and older riding in a motor vehicle must wear a safety belt, if the vehicle is required to have safety belts.
Vehicles built after 1969 must have at least lap-type safety belts for all riders, plus shoulder harnesses for front-seat riders.
Vehicles built between 1968-1969 need only have lap-type safety belts for front seat riders.
Children who are younger than six or weigh less than 60 pounds must ride in an approved safety restraint system.
In addition, children who are younger than one or weigh less than 20 pounds must ride facing the rear of the vehicle.
Children are generally safest riding in the back seat. In fact, with vehicles containing front seat passenger air bags, infants should always ride in the back seat.
If you don't properly restrain child passengers, you can be fined, forced to perform community service, and have your license suspended.
Texting, accessing the Internet and hand-held cell phone use while driving are illegal throughout the state.
Exceptions to this law include:
- Use of a hands-free headset
- Any person reporting a medical emergency, a safety hazard or criminal activity
- Drivers using a voice-operated navigation system affixed to the vehicle
- Drivers using citizen band or other two-way radios that require a license and have a separate, handheld microphone
- Utility workers responding to an emergency or outage
- Law enforcement personnel, firefighters or emergency medical personnel acting within the scope of their job
- Amateur radio operators providing assistance during an emergency or disaster
If you ride a motorcycle, you are required to wear a helmet. In addition, on cycles without windscreens, you must protect yourself by using glasses, goggles, or face shields.
Motorists can call *647 (or *NHP) on their cell phones to alert the Nevada Highway Patrol about accidents, disabled vehicles, hazardous situations, and potentially drunk drivers.
Leaving a child younger than seven in a vehicle without proper supervision (someone at least 12 years old) is considered a misdemeanor, if doing so endangers the child's health and safety.
The state also considers leaving a child in a situation where physical or mental harm may take place (due to abuse or neglect) to be child endangerment.
Other Topics in This Section
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- California Bans Use of Cell Phone GPS While Driving
- Teen Driver Safety: Seat Belt Use
- Headlight Laws Vary Little Throughout the Nation
- Safety Laws On Children, Pets, and Vehicles
- Bicycle Safety Laws: Learn Your State’s Helmet Laws, Traffic Laws, and More
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.