Renewing Your License in NevadaCompare Car Insurance Quotes in 3 Steps
1. Enter Your Zip:Page Overview
Your license must be valid to drive, so be sure you get to the DMV office on or before its expiration date. Scroll down to read more about renewing.
Another requirement is to carry adequate car insurance, including liability, as set by the legislature. The most convenient method to shop for car insurance these days is to shop online for the best quote.
Nevada is currently transitioning to driver licenses valid for 8 years instead of the previous 4 years.
- Residents born in even-numbered years will receive a license valid for 8 years at your next renewal.
- Residents born in odd-numbered years will receive a license valid for 4 years at your next renewal, and all renewals through 2017. After that, you will receive the renewal for 8 years.
Your license will indicate whether you need to renew every 4 years or every 8 years. For licenses with renewal every 8 years, you must always renew in person. Licenses good for 4 years have the option of renewing in person, by mail, by kiosk, or online.
If you’re not sure whether your license is valid, go ahead and check your driving record.
Commercial drivers have to follow different renewing rules.
Licenses for in-state residents that are only expired for 30 days or less can still renew by mail or in person. Licenses expired 31 days to 1 year will incur a $10 late fee and you must renew at a DMV. Remember, you can still get a citation even if your license has only been expired for one day.
If you are out of state when you receive your renewal notice, your license can be renewed by mail up to 1 year after its expiration date as long as you meet certain qualifications. You will still have to pay the $10 late fee.
Your driving record will tell you whether your license is expired.
You could also be facing suspension if you got a DUI or if you’ve gotten too many citations in the past few years. To check, look at your driving record. This will tell you everything that’s counted against you and whether your license is in danger of suspension, or whether it's already suspended.
Once you’re reinstated to drive legally, you’ll probably see your car insurance rates spike. To counteract this, now is a good time to look for the best service provider.
If your license gets lost or stolen, report it and get a replacement license as soon as possible.
As long as you've kept your address current with the DMV, you should generally receive a renewal notice before your license expiration date. It will tell you your renewal options that you may be eligible for - online, in person, by mail, or by kiosk. If you haven't received this notice, contact your local DMV to inquire about your renewal eligibility options.
Renewing Ahead of Time
You may renew in person at a DMV office whenever you like without waiting for a renewal notice. If you're planning a long vacation near your expiration date, this may be the way to go.
If your expiration date is less than 6 months ahead when you renew, your new date will be set for 4 years. If the expiration date is 6 months to 1 year ahead, your new date will be set for 3 years.
To renew online, by kiosk, or by mail, you must:
- Be at least 20 years old by your next birthday
- Have renewed in person within the last 4 years.
- Have a license that is valid for 4 years, rather than 8 years.
You also can't have more than 2 moving violations or a license suspension, revocation, or cancellation with the last 4 years.
Out of State Residents
If you're out of state, call (775) 684-4560 or (877) 368-7828 for renewal instructions. You may be eligible to renew by mail using the Application for Nevada Driver's License By Mail (Form DMV 204), but you need further instructions from the DMV before filling out the application.
- Go to the renewal website and enter the required information, including the access code found on your renewal notice.
- Pay your renewal fee:
- 4 years: $22.25.
- Drivers 65 years old and older (4 years): $17.25.
Your license should typically arrive in the mail within 10 days.
Renew by Kiosk
To renew at a kiosk service location, you must have a renewal notice with an access code. You may NOT complete a late renewal at a kiosk.
Follow the prompts on the screen, and be prepared to pay your renewal fee (see above), along with an additional $1 processing fee. You should generally receive your license in the mail within 10 days.
Renew By Mail
If you have NOT been required to renew in person, but you are NOT eligible for renewal online or at a kiosk, you may mail in your renewal. This option usually applies only to people who are temporarily out of state, who have recently moved, or who have some other unusual situation.
- Follow the instructions on your renewal notice.
- Send a check or money order for your renewal fee to the address listed on the notice.
- To use a credit card, mail the Credit Card Authorization form (Form VP 205) with your renewal request.
If you are currently out of state, please see "Out-of-State Residents" above.
Your notice will tell you if you need to show up at a DMV office. If your license is valid for 8 years, you must renew in person as well. Be prepared to take a vision test and pay the required fee.
Drivers with more than 2 moving violations in the last 4 years, or drivers with suspended or revoked licenses, may have to retake some tests.
How often do you test your knowledge of the newest laws? A skills brush-up may be in order. Consider taking a traffic school supplemental course to round out your education. It could also earn you an insurance break.
Look at your policy to see if your provider will give you a discount for taking the class. If they won’t, now could be a good time to see if anyone else can get you a better deal.Other Topics in This SectionOrgan Donation Survey
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸