- Location: Nevada
Plate Surrender in NevadaCompare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Be prepared to surrender your NV license plates. This applies to when moving out of state and when selling your vehicle.
After establishing residency you have 30 days to register your car with Nevada’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). If your fail to register within this time frame, you could be saddled with a $1,000 fine. During registration be prepared to surrender your out-of-state license plates.
For more information on Nevada, visit our relocation guide.
You have 30 days to notify the DMV of your move by submitting a Change of Address Notification. If you still have your license plates, surrender them with the notification, as well. If you’ve already surrendered your plates to your new state, include instead a notarized Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated License Plate Affidavit.
Now what to expect when moving by visiting our Moving Out of Nevada page.
Nevada requires that you remove the license plates before handing over the car keys and title. The plates stay with you not the vehicle.
You then have 30 days to transfer the plates to another vehicle under your name. If you don’t transfer the plates within 30 days, you must surrender the license plates to the DMV. You may do this in person at any DMV office or send the license plates, along with a cancellation letter, to:
- Department of Motor Vehicles
- Central Services Division
- 555 Wright Way
- Carson City, NV89711
Keep in mind that you may, if you so choose, transfer the license plates to the buyer by submitting a License Plate Release form. This is common with plates on classic cars.
For more information on selling your vehicle, visit our Vehicle Title Transfers page.
The license plates, as dictated by Nevada law, stay with the seller. They don’t stay on the car. To drive it home you must have proof of car insurance and a movement permit.
Need more information on buying details? Visit our Vehicle Title Transfers page.Other Topics in This Section