New to Nevada
If you're a new resident of Nevada, you'll need to transferyour out-of-state driver's license to the state and register your car. This requires a visit to the NV DMV where you'll need to provide various documents and payment. You should also update your voter and organ donor registrations to your new state. Military members stationed in Nevada may have licensing and registration requirements exemptions.
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles handles vehicle-related services in the state. You can visit the DMV for anything from applying for your driver's license to getting information on your emissions testing.
If you have a boat to register, you'll do so with the Nevada Department of Wildlife.
Lastly, you'll interact with the Secretary of State, should you register to vote in any upcoming elections.
If you're bringing your car from your previous state to Nevada with you, you'll need to have it registered with the NV DMV within 30 days of becoming a resident. You'll need to visit your local DMV office in person, submit some paperwork, and pay the registration fee. For more information, see our Car Registration page.
If you own a special vehicle, such as a moped, motorhome, or off-road vehicle, your registration process might be a little different. Our Special Vehicles page will provide more information on registration guidelines.
NOTE: If you need a commercial driver's license (CDL), follow the instructions on our Applying for a New CDL page.
Required Car Insurance
The Nevada DMV requires that you carry adequate car insurance before you can register your car. Your policy must be issued by a Nevada-licensed agency and you must provide the DMV with your insurance card as proof of your coverage. To compare quotes and policies, visit our Car Insurance center.
Required Car Inspections
Depending on what area of Nevada you live in, you may be required to get an emissions or smog inspection. Some vehicles are exempt from this law. You can find out more on our Car Inspections in Nevada page.
When you first move to Nevada, you are allowed to continue driving using your out-of-state driver's license for up to 30 days only. After this time, you'll need to have a valid Nevada driver's license. Find out how to apply for one on our Applying for a New License page.
If you are a teenager, you may be able to transfer your out-of-state driver's permit to Nevada, as long as the driving training you received in your previous state meets the NV graduated driver's licensing (GDL) requirements. Read our Applying for a New Teen License page for specific information.
If you need a form of identification, but don't wish to drive in Nevada, you can apply for an ID card from the DMV. You'll need to present some documents proving your identity and you'll also need to pay the ID card fee. Instructions can be found on our Identification Cards page.
When you visit the NV DMV to obtain a driver's license or ID card, you'll be able to register as an organ donor and/or register to vote in the state.
NOTE: If you were registered as an organ donor or voter in your previous state, you will still need to re-register in Nevada.
If you're not sure whether you want to register yet, you can do so at a later time. For more information, visit our following pages:
If you're an active-duty military member, you may be entitled to some exemptions when it comes to vehicle registration and driver's licensing in Nevada. Our page dedicated to Military Drivers in Nevada is loaded with helpful information for you and your family.
Use our handy office finder tool when you're ready for your visit.
Before you get on the road in your new home town, make sure you're aware of all the road rules by reading the DMV's driving manuals:
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.