Motorcycle Registration in Nevada
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
All motorcycles over 50cc must be registered in this state just like any other vehicle. However, motorcycles are not subject to emissions testing. Mopeds are typically 50cc or less, so they don’t require registration.
In addition to standard registration fees (calculated according to a number of data, including year and make), all motorcycle registrations will be assessed an extra $6 charge to help fund rider safety programs throughout the state.
All motorcycle registrations must be processed at a full-service DMV office.
Register your motorcycle before the expiration date on the temporary placard issued by the dealer. Simply bring in the Report of Sale. Sales tax should have been paid at the dealer, so it won’t be required at the DMV.
You’ll need your invoice or bill of sale, as well as one of the following:
- Manufacturer’s certificate of origin
- Security agreement
- Lease agreement
You’ll also need to have a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection performed either by a local law enforcement officer or at a full-service DMV office. The DMV will calculate Nevada sales tax and require you to pay the difference if the tax you paid doesn’t equal that amount.
Note: If you purchased your motorcycle in Utah, full Nevada taxes will be due.
You should register your motorcycle within 30 days of the purchase date. You’ll need your title or security agreement. A VIN inspection will also be done at the DMV. You’ll also be required to document the odometer reading.
Vehicles purchased in 2006 or later will not be assessed sales tax.
If you’ve moved to the state, you have 30 days to transfer your registration. Simply bring in your current license plates and registration certificate. You’ll also need a VIN inspection from the DMV.
All registered vehicles must maintain the minimum liability insurance coverage from a Nevada insurer, as required by the state. At the time of registration, your insurance information will be verified electronically. Failure to maintain insurance coverage throughout your ownership of the motorcycle can result in suspension of your registration and a $250 fee. Find out more about Nevada insurance requirements.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.