Drivers Ed in Nevada
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Driver's Ed in Nevada
If you're a teenager applying for your first driver's license, you'll need to complete a Driver's Ed course to satisfy the young driver requirements with the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
The process of obtaining your driver license can be a lengthy one, but in the end it's worth it. The state of Nevada is serious about young drivers being well prepared for the responsibilities of driving. Your driving course will help you gain the knowledge and skills necessary to become a safe and skillful driver.
On this page you'll find information about driver's education in Nevada and the next steps you'll need to satisfy to obtain your first driver's license.
All new drivers who are younger than 18 years old must complete an approved driver's education program.
You can enroll in a Driver's Ed program when you're at least 15 years old.
You can obtain a learner's permit when you are at least 15 1/2 years old. For more information, please visit our Driver's Permit page.
NOTE: You are not required to complete your driver's education course before obtaining your learner's permit.
Nevada driver's education programs are provided by:
- High schools.
- Professional driving schools.
- Online driver's education programs.
For a complete list of approved third-party providers, visit the Nevada DMV website.
Contact your course provider for details about schedules and pricing.
NOTE: If you live in a rural area where no Driver's Ed class is offered within 30 miles of your home, you are not required to complete the program. Instead, you'll need to complete a total of 100 hours of supervised driving practice.
Course Curriculum & Hours
The basic requirement for the course is 30 hours of classroom instruction. Some specially certified private schools require at least 15 hours being in the classroom and 5 hours of behind-the-wheel training.
Your course will cover topics including:
- Safe and defensive driving techniques.
- Traffic laws and violations.
- Sharing the road.
- Judging hazards and managing risks.
At the end of your course, you should receive a certificate of completion, which you will need when you apply for your driver's license.
NOTE: If your high school does not issue completion certificates, the NV DMV will accept your report card or official transcript.
Completing driver's education will put you one step closer to your driver's license and can better prepare you to pass the DMV written and road tests.
Before you can get your first driver's license, you'll need to:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Complete at least 50 hours of behind-the-wheel supervised practice and submit a Beginning Driver Experience Log (Form DLD130).
- Hold your learner's permit for at least 6 months.
- Have had no accidents, traffic violations or alcohol/drug convictions in the 6 months before applying.
- Schedule your road test with the Nevada DMV.
For more information, please visit our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) page.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.