Drivers with Disabilities in Nevada
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Nevada law allows for a variety of special parking privileges for people who are disabled, even temporarily. Ask your local full-service DMV office for details about license plates, placards, motorcycle stickers, and expedited service permits, or visit the Department of Motor Vehicles online. License plates and permits are for permanently disabled applicants only.
On the Application for Disabled Persons License Plates and/or Placards, you'll find that the bottom portion is to be filled out by an authorized physician. As it states on the form, disability is defined as the following:
- Inability to walk 200 feet without stopping to rest
- Inability to walk without the use of a brace, cane, crutch, wheelchair, or other device, or another person
- Restricted by lung disease
- Requires portable oxygen
- Cardiac condition with Class III or Class IV limitations as defined by the American Heart Association
- Visually handicapped
- Severely limited in ability to walk because of an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition
The disability must also be rated as to whether it will get better with time. You can receive a temporary status, for placards valid for six months; a moderate status, for placards valid for two years; or a permanent status, for license plates, permits, and placards good for 10 years.
Placard only: The best way to apply for a placard is by mail or fax. Fill out the Application for Disabled Persons License Plate and/or Placards, and have your physician complete the form. Mail it to the address listed on the form, or fax it to (775) 684-4797. You can also bring the form into your nearest full-service DMV office.
Plates and/or placards: Fill out the application form and bring it, along with your current license plates, into any full-service DMV office. You can renew your registration at the same time if you wish, but it's not required.
Expedited service permit: If you have a permanent disability, you may be eligible for expedited service at State of Nevada agencies, including the DMV. Fill out the Application for an Expedited Service Permit and bring it into your nearest full-service DMV office. If you've already filled out an application to get a disabled license plate, you won't need to provide physician's information at this time. The permit lasts 10 years, and the fees are as follows:
- Under age 18: $6
- Age 18-64: $12
- Age 65 or older: $7
NOTE: Nevada institutes a Central Issuance policy for licenses and permits.
If you receive a disabled license plate, placard, permit, or motorcycle sticker, you'll also be sent a letter of authorization with your name and address on it. This letter should be kept in the vehicle where you use your permit or placard at all times.
Because renewal notices are sent to your address on record, please keep your address updated. Use a change of address form to notify the DMV of any address changes.
For temporary- and moderate-status placards, you'll need to complete another application, along with another physician's statement. Please order by mail if possible. You won't receive a renewal notice for these items, so make sure to make a note of the expiration date.
For permanent placards, you'll receive a renewal notice as your expiration date nears. Fill out the top half of the application; no physician's statement is necessary.
For license plates, you should just renew annually like you would with any other vehicle. No application or additional physician's statement is necessary.
Once you've received your license plates and/or placards, it's important to use them correctly. Misusing the privileges can result in fines or even cancellation of the plates or placard. You could also be cited if you allow someone else to use them.
The minimum fine for illegally parking in a handicapped stall has increased recently from $100 to $250. Your family members and friends cannot use the placard or plates unless you are with them. Also, your parking privileges do not mean parking fees are waived.
For more information about disabled parking standards and regulations, please see the ADA Accessibility Guidelines.
Nevada honors nonexpired disability placards and plates from other states. Likewise, current Nevada placards and plates should be acceptable in other states. However, if you are traveling to another state and are concerned about whether your Nevada disability plate or placard will be accepted there, it might be wise to check with that state's motor vehicle department, or simply look at our Drivers with Disabilities section for the state in question.
Other Topics in This Section
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.