Defensive Driving in Nevada
If you have received a traffic ticket in Nevada, then a Nevada State Approved Defensive Driving Course is a great way to dismiss your traffic ticket and lose the points from your driving records. I Drive Safely is a good choice for Nevada Defensive Driving Course online.
The successful completion of a course from one of the approved Defensive Driving Course may prevent violations from damaging your driving record. While in many cases a course just might get a traffic ticket dismissed, attending traffic school can also enhance your driving knowledge and skill level, and it may increase your overall safety awareness so that you, your family, and other drivers can be safer on the roads.Page Overview
Nevada Traffic Schools
In Nevada, traffic school/defensive driving courses are commonly referred to as traffic safety school. They are usually taken for one of the following reasons:
- As part of a plea bargain agreement with a court of law. (Point reductions are NOT offered for courses completed as part of a plea bargain.)
- To reduce the number of points on your driving record.
- To reduce your car insurance rate.
Nevada defensive driving courses are provided by commercial driving schools and by online providers. You will be able to take the course either in person or online.
Check with your court and the NV DMV whether they have specific requirements of how you must attend the course.
If you choose to complete your course online, you will have the option of taking a text-based course or an online video course. Both courses are approximately 5 hours long.
Prices and schedules vary depending on which course you choose to take. Contact your chosen course provider directly for more specific information.
NOTE: Nevada traffic safety schools cannot be completed to satisfy the requirements of minor driver education or DUI school.
Visit the NV DMV website for a complete list of approved traffic schools.
The Nevada DMV has incorporated a demerit point system as part of their driver improvement program. When the DMV receives a conviction notice from a court, the offense is logged on your driving record and the appropriate demerit points are assigned.
You’ll receive notification by mail from the Nevada DMV when you accrue 3 points or more. If you have accumulated between 3 to 11 points, you can have 3 points removed from your driving record by completing a DMV-approved traffic school safety course.
You are only allowed to complete traffic school voluntarily once every 12 months.
Here are some of the more common infractions and their associated points:
- Reckless driving: 8 points.
- Failure to provide information or assist at the scene of an accident: 6 points.
- Careless driving: 6 points.
- Failure to give way: 4 points.
- Following too closely: 4 points.
- Passing a school bus illegally: 4 points.
- Disobeying a traffic signal: 4 points.
- Driving too slowly: 2 points.
- Failure to dim high beams: 2 points.
For a comprehensive detailed list, please refer to this list of violation codes.
Once you compete your Nevada traffic school/defensive driving course, your course provider will automatically notify the Nevada DMV, and you’ll receive credit for taking the course.
This will show up on your driving record and any points that are to be deducted will be removed. You should check your driving record after completing traffic school to make sure your information has been updated.
If you completed a defensive driving course to satisfy a court requirement, you should contact the court handling your case directly.
If you voluntarily completed Nevada traffic school to reduce your auto insurance rates, you should contact your insurance company once you finish your course. BEFORE you enroll in traffic school, make sure you check whether you’re eligible for a car insurance discount first.Other Topics in This Section