Commercial Driver FAQs in Nevada
Get Free Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes from Multiple Providers
Enter Your Zip Code:
Where to Find Info
There's a lot to know about commercial driver licenses in the state of Nevada, and most of it is covered on other pages of this site (see below for links). This page contains answers to a few questions that need to be asked.
For detailed information about application and training for your commercial driver license (CDL), see the following:
I have a CDL. Are there special procedures for taking care of a ticket?
While the procedure for paying or clearing a ticket will be the same as for any other driver, there are certain federal guidelines that apply only to CDL holders. These guidelines relate to disclosure of the ticket:
- You must notify your employer within 30 days if you are convicted of a traffic violation (except for parking). This is required even if you were driving your personal, noncommercial vehicle at the time.
- You must notify your local DMV office within 30 days if you are convicted of a traffic violation (except parking) in another jurisdiction. Again, you must report it no matter what vehicle you were driving.
- You must notify your employer if your license is suspended, revoked, or cancelled for any reason, or if you are temporarily disqualified from driving.
Are the DUI blood alcohol limits the same for all license holders?
No. As a commercial vehicle driver, you are subject to much more stringent blood alcohol restrictions than Class C drivers. A blood alcohol content (BAC) of just 0.04% is enough to convict you of DUI while driving a commercial vehicle, while a BAC of 0.08% is the limit for other drivers. In fact, you will automatically be put out of service for 24 hours if you have any amount of alcohol detected in your blood, even below the legal 0.04% limit.
I've heard I can lose my CDL privileges for a lot of different reasons. What are they?
It's definitely easier to lose your CDL privileges than it is to forfeit other types of license. The following actions will get your CDL taken away for at least one year, and this is on a first offense:
- Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI)
- Leaving the scene of an accident you caused
- Using your commercial vehicle to commit a felony
Note: A second conviction for any of the above will mean you lose your CDL for life.
In addition to the offenses mentioned above, you can lose your CDL for something a lot smaller. It's clear the state of Nevada is serious about ensuring that only safe, professional, and conscientious drivers have CDLs:
- You'll lose your CDL for 60 days if you commit two or more "serious traffic violations" in your commercial vehicle within the span of three years. Serious traffic violations include excessive speeding (15 mph or more over the limit), reckless driving, improper lane changes, and following another vehicle too closely.
- You'll lose your CDL for 120 days for three serious traffic violations in three years.
- You'll lose your CDL for 60 days for a railroad crossing violation.
What about farmers who drive big trucks to deliver supplies, or people with big RVs. Do they need a CDL?
Some exceptions exist when it comes to CDL requirements. The following vehicles, while they may fit into the commercial class according to gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR), do not require a CDL to operate:
- Vehicles owned by farmers and used to transport goods or equipment to or from the farm. This vehicle is exempt as long as it is not driven outside of a 150-mile radius of the property, is operated only by the farmer and immediate family or employees, and is not used for hire. It also cannot be used for transporting hazardous materials in quantities that would require a placard.
- Recreational vehicles used for noncommercial purposes.
- Military vehicles driven by active military personnel.
- Emergency vehicles operated by firefighters.
Are certain DMV locations better able to assist CDL customers than others?
Yes. The DMV operates six offices that are designated as Commercial Driver License offices. The examiners there will have information and answers for any technical or regulatory questions you may have.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
Instant Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record.
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.