Car Insurance in Nevada
1. FAST 2. COMPARE 3. $AVE Fill out a quote form about you and your vehicles Instantly get free quotes from top car insurance companies Choose from the lowest rate policies and save hundreds
Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.
Nevada Car Insurance
Nevada car insurance law requires all drivers to carry liability insurance and validates all drivers’ insurance with an online verification system. Drivers who do not have valid auto insurance are subject to fines and other penalties.
Read below to find out more about required and optional car insurance, and ways to find affordable insurance in Nevada.
NV Car Insurance Requirements
Drivers in Nevada are required to have liability insurance.
Liability insurance pays for damage to another driver’s car and any injuries resulting from a car accident for which you are found at fault.
Nevada drivers must carry the following coverage minimums:
- $15,000 of bodily injury coverage per person.
- $30,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $10,000 of property damage coverage.
Auto insurance companies commonly list these limits as “15/30/10.”
Most insurance companies offer higher coverage limits for more protection. Ask your insurance agent for car insurance quotes of different limits to find the best plan for you.
You must provide the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) with your insurance information:
NOTE: New residents must register a vehicle within 30 days of moving to NV.
When registering your vehicle, have your Nevada Evidence of Insurance card available so that you can provide your policy number and other relevant information. (This card is issued by your insurance company.)
Nevada uses an online verification system, Nevada LIVE, to verify the insurance information that you provide.
Optional NV Car Insurance
Optional coverage protects you and your car when:
- You are at fault in a car accident.
- No one is at fault for an accident.
- You incur costs not covered by another driver’s liability insurance.
Common optional coverages are available to NV drivers:
- Collision coverage –Pays for accident-related damage to your vehicle.
- Comprehensive coverage – Pays for damage to your vehicle caused by external factors like theft or severe weather.
- Uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage (UM/UIM) – Pays for damage/injury caused by uninsured drivers or those without adequate insurance to cover your costs.
- Medical payments coverage – Pays medical expenses for you and your passengers.
- Rental reimbursement coverage –Pays costs toward renting a car while your car is being repaired after an accident.
- Towing and labor coverage – Pays for towing and roadside assistance.
- Guaranteed asset protection (GAP) coverage – Pays the remainder of a car loan if the car is a total loss and you owe more than it is worth.
NOTE: If you are financing or leasing your car, you may be required to buy collision coverage and comprehensive coverage as part of your car agreement.
Driving Without Car Insurance
If you drive without car insurance in Nevada, your driver’s license and vehicle registration can be suspended.
Notification of Suspended Car Insurance
The Nevada LIVE system checks the status of your car insurance throughout the year, including when you:
- Register your vehicle.
- Renew your vehicle registration.
If the system cannot verify your car insurance, you will receive a notification postcard from the NV DMV. You must respond within 15 days to avoid suspension of your vehicle registration.
Note that you may receive a notice when you change auto insurance companies.
To respond to the notification, go to the NV DMV online insurance verification page to input your valid insurance information.
You will receive EITHER:
- Immediate confirmation that your car insurance information is valid and a follow-up confirmation letter.
- A pending notification. The DMV will request your car insurance records from your insurer.
You will receive a certified letter to notify you of your vehicle registration suspension IF:
- You do not respond to the initial notification within 15 days.
- Your insurance company does not respond to the DMV’s request within 20 days.
If your registration is suspended, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee of at least $250 per vehicle.
Insurance Violation Penalties
The penalties for driving without insurance are based on:
- The duration of the lapse in your car insurance.
- The number of insurance violations you have had.
The penalties for driving without car insurance in NV include:
- Reinstatement fees varying from $250 to $750 depending on your number of insurance violations.
- Fines of up to $1000 depending on how long you went without auto insurance.
- SR22 insurance for 3 years if you did not have insurance for 91 days or more, regardless of how many violations you have had.
- Driver’s license suspension for a minimum of 30 days if it is your third violation for driving without car insurance, regardless of the length of the lapse.
If you cause an accident resulting in more than $750 in damage while uninsured, you can have your driver’s license and vehicle registration automatically suspended or revoked.
More information about the penalties for driving without car insurance in Nevada is available on the NVDMV page.
SR22s are required for Nevada insurance violations of 91 days or more and may be required for other violations such as drunk driving (DUI).
The SR22 is not insurance but rather is a guarantee that you will be insured for a certain period of time. In Nevada, the SR22 is required for 3 years.
An SR22 is also known as proof of financial responsibility. Your insurance company must file it with the NVDMV.
NOTE: If your SR22 lapses or is canceled, you may be required to begin the 3-year period again.
Driving Without Proof of Insurance
You must carry proof of auto insurance in your vehicle in the form of a Nevada Evidence of Insurance card issued by your insurance company.
Failure to present the Evidence of Insurance card to a police officer at a traffic stop or after an accident may result in a citation.
NV Car Insurance Regulation
Nevada car insurance is regulated by the Nevada Division of Insurance (DOI), which can help consumers with insurance questions and complaint resolution.
Questions or Complaints
To contact the NV DOI with questions about car insurance, call:
- Northern Nevada: (775) 687-0700.
- Southern Nevada: (702) 486-4009.
If you have an issue with an insurance company that cannot be resolved, you can file a formal complaint with the DOI online, by mail, or by fax.
- Online by completing the online complaint form.
- You will first need to create an account by providing your name and contact information.
- By mail or fax:
- Send the Consumer Complaint Form (DOI 310) to one of the regional office addresses or fax numbers published on the form.
NOTE: You may request that your complaint file be kept confidential from the public.
Car Insurance Fraud
Insurance fraud is illegal and can cost you money by contributing to state and national insurance rate increases.
Car insurance fraud can include:
- Filing a false claim.
- Exaggerating a claim.
- Staging a car accident.
- Forging insurance documents.
If you suspect insurance fraud, you can report it to the Nevada Attorney General Office’s by mail or telephone:
- Mail the Suspected Insurance Fraud Information Report to the address on the form.
- Call the fraud hotline at (800) 266-8688.
Nevada Car Insurance Rates
In Nevada, car insurance rates are determined by several factors. The car insurance quotes you receive from insurance companies may be based on your:
- Driving record (past 3 - 5 years).
- Age and gender.
- Marital status.
- Past claims.
- Car’s make and model.
- Credit report.
You may also be eligible for discounts that will help you get affordable car insurance.
Credit Reporting and Auto Insurance
Car insurance companies may use your credit report to help determine your rating.
In Nevada, a car insurance company must inform you that they will use your credit information.
Not all insurance companies use credit history to determine rates. The Nevada DOI’s List of Nevada Private Passenger Automobile Insurance Companies by Usage Status of Credit-Based Insurance Scoring provides more information about which companies use credit history and how they use it.
Traffic Violations and Car Insurance
Your driving record is a key factor that insurance companies use to set your car insurance rates.
Having traffic violations on your record can raise your rates because you are a greater risk to the insurance company.
Some violations that may result in increased rates include:
- Reckless driving.
- Moving violations (e.g, speeding).
The best way to get the cheapest car insurance is to keep a clean driving record.
Car Insurance for High-Risk Drivers
If you have a history of violations, accidents, or claims, you may be considered a high-risk driver and insurance companies may elect not to insure you.
If you are unable to obtain insurance, you can apply through the Nevada Automobile Insurance Plan (NAIP). This plan assigns high-risk drivers to licensed insurance companies.
For more information about the NAIP or to apply for car insurance from the NAIP, contact the Western Association of Automobile Insurance Plans (WAAIP):
- By telephone: (800) 227-4659.
- Via e-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org.
The WAAIP will connect you with an auto insurance company that is legally required to insure you.
NV Car Insurance Discounts
Car insurance companies in Nevada offer a range of rate discounts, including:
- Multiple vehicles.
- Multiple policies (e.g., home and car).
- Safety and anti-theft devices.
- Good driver.
Teens and drivers over 55 years old can also get special discounts for completing driving education courses.
To get the best car insurance quotes, be sure to:
Choose a State:
- Ask about discounts.
- Drive safely to maintain a good driving record.
- Always keep your insurance up to date.
Local Auto Insurance
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- Shop For Insurance Online
- Insurance State Requirements
Auto Insurance Center
- Auto Insurance Policy Basics
- Top Reasons To Buy Insurance Coverage
- Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements
- Buying Car Insurance Basics
- Buying Car Insurance For Teens
- Teen Guide To Car Insurance
- How To Get Car Insurance Coverage With A Learners Permit
- First Time Drivers Guide To Car Insurance
- How To Save Money On Teen Car Insurance
- Common Driving Mistakes Teens Make
- Safe Driving Tips For Teenage Drivers
- Safe Cars For Teen Drivers
- How To Add Teens To Your Auto Insurance Policy
- Tips for Car Insurance Policy Holders
- Types Of Auto Insurance Coverage
- Buying Car Insurance For Seniors
- Senior Guide To Car Insurance
- Extended Insurance Coverage Guide
- How To Get The Most Out Of Your Auto Insurance Coverage
- When To Buy Rental Car Insurance
- How To Cover Vandalism Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Auto Theft Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Windshield Repair Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Accidents With Wildlife Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Lost Wages Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Medical Expenses Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Pet Injuries Through Car Insurance
- How To Avoid Auto Insurance Non Renewal
Commercial Auto Insurance
- Commercial Auto Insurance Requirements
- Commercial Auto Insurance State Requirements
- Federal Motor Carrier Insurance
- CDL Federal Requirements
- Commercial Insurance Filing
- State Commercial Insurance Filings
- Federal Truck Filings
- Intrastate Truck Filings
- Interstate Transportation Filings
- Certificate Of Insurance
- Uniform Carrier Registration Plan
- Types Of Commercial Auto Insurance
- Commercial Vehicle Insurance Discounts
- Multiple Policy Discount For Commercial Vehicles
- Paid In Full Commercial Vehicle Insurance Discount
- Commercial Business Experience Discount
- Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes
- Commercial Auto Insurance Articles
- Who Needs Commercial Auto Insurance
- Types Of Commercial Vehicles To Insure
- How To Save Money On Commercial Auto Insurance
- What You Need For A Commercial Insurance Quote
- Types Of Business Vehicle Insurance
- How To Compare Commercial Insurance Quotes
- How To Get The Most Out Of Your Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage
- Types Of Commercial Trailers To Insure
- Online Commercial Auto Insurance
- Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements
- Types Of Motorcycle Coverage
- Accessory Coverage For Motorcycles
- Comprehensive Physical Damage Insurance For Motorcycles
- Collision Insurance For Motorcycles
- Bodily Injury Liability Insurance For Motorcycles
- Property Damage Liability Insurance For Motorcycles
- Medical Payments Insurance For Motorcycle Riders
- Personal Injury Protection Insurance For Motorcyclists
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage For Motorcyclists
- Underinsured Motorist Coverage For Motorcyclists
- Motorcycle Roadside Assistance
- Motorcycle Insurance Quotes
- Motorcycle Insurance Rates
- Motorcycle Insurance Discounts
- Online Motorcycle Insurance
- Motorcycle Insurance Articles
- Motocross Insurance
- Dirt Bike Insurance
- Moped Insurance
- Trike Insurance
- Scooter Insurance
Auto Insurance Policy Basics
- Auto Insurance Deductible
- Auto Insurance Limit
- Auto Insurance Premium
- Auto Insurance Quote
- Auto Insurance Rates
- Motor Vehicle Report
- Proof Of Financial Responsibility
- Auto Insurance Endorsement
- Auto Insurance Exclusion
- Auto Insurance Rating
- Auto Insurance Code
- Auto Insurance Discounts
- Auto Insurance Glossary
- How To Obtain Proof Of Insurance
- How To Change Auto Insurance Providers
- Factors That Affect Insurance Rates
- How To Cancel An Auto Insurance Policy
- When An Accident Happens
- Accident Loss
- Auto Accident Payment Recovery
- Total Loss
- Proof of Loss
- Actual Cash Value
- Lost Wages
- Salvage Vehicles
- How To File An Accident Report With The Police
- Evaluating Personal Injury In Auto Accidents
- First Steps Following A Personal Injury Auto Accident
- When To Seek Medical Attention For Personal Injury
- Protection Against Auto Insurance Fraud
- How To Handle Staged Car Accidents
- Types of Insurance Claims
- Bodily Injury Claims
- Property Damage Claims
- Windshield Claims
- Third Party Insurance Claims
- About Car Insurance Claims
- How Car Insurance Claims Affect Your Auto Insurance Policy
- When To Cover Personal Injury With Auto Insurance
- How Much Personal Injury Protection To Buy
- Supplementing Health Insurance With Personal Injury Protection
- Pain And Suffering In Personal Injury Claims
- Statute Of Limitations And Personal Injury
- Negligence And Determining Legal Liability
- Auto Insurance Claim Settlements
- Auto Insurance Settlements Involving Personal Injury
- Proving Fault In An Auto Accident Personal Injury Case
- Compensation For Auto Accident Personal Injury Claims
- Tips For Settling A Motor Vehicle Accident Claim
- Factors That Affect Compensation In Personal Injury Claims
- Legal Representation For Insurance Claims
- When To Hire A Personal Injury Attorney
- When To Hire A Lawyer
- Personal Injury Attorney Fees
- How To Choose Personal Injury Lawyers
- Benefits of Hiring A Personal Injury Attorney
- What To Submit To A Personal Injury Attorney
- Processing Car Insurance Claims
- How Car Insurance Companies Handle Claims
- How Car Insurance Companies Investigate Accident Claims
- How To Document Auto Accident Damage
- When To Report An Auto Accident To The DMV
- Tips On Documenting Personal Injury Expenses
- Paying Medical Bills Before Receiving Personal Injury Compensation
- Wage Loss In Personal Injury Auto Accident Cases
- How To File A Loss Of Wages Auto Claim
- Stages Of A Personal Injury Case
- Filing Car Insurance Claims