Applying for a New License (Drivers 18+) in Nevada
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Whether you’re new to driving or new to Nevada, you’ll have to apply for a driver’s license. Nevada offers these licenses:
- Class C Driver License for vehicles weighing 26,000 pounds or less.
- Commercial Driver Licenses
Transferring Your License
If you have a valid out-of-state license and no restrictions on it, you can transfer it. Take proof of identity and social security number to your local DMV. You might be asked to take a vision test.
It costs $22 ($17 for ages 65 and older).
Younger Than 18― Nevada requires teens to take a driver education course.
You can start the course when you’re 15, but you have to be 15 ½ to get your permit. Once you get your permit, you must get 50 hours of drive time (10 at night) before you get your license. Use the Beginning Driver Experience Log to keep track of your hours. A driver education class with behind-the-wheel experience counts toward the hours.
Nevada waives the driver’s ed requirement for people with no classes offered within 30 miles. Instead, you can drive at least 100 hours of behind-the-wheel driving time, with 10 hours completed at night.
18 and Older― The best thing for everyone new to the state or to driving is to take a driver’s ed class. Familiarizing yourself with Nevada’s traffic laws will help you avoid tickets and accidents.
Find the nearest DMV office to take your written test. DMV representatives answer e-mail and the phone if you have more questions. The NV DMV doesn't make appointments for the written test.
NOTE: Nevada has instituted a Central Issuance policy for driver licenses. If you visit Carson City or Reno DMV locations, you will receive a temporary license at the time of application and your official license will be mailed to you within 10 days.
While the Central Issuance policy is currently only effective in Carson City and Reno areas, the policy will take effect in all remaining Nevada DMV offices in the coming weeks.
Fees listed in this article reflect the new Central Issuance fees. If you live in an area where Central Issuance is not yet in effect, subtract 75 cents from all fees listed.
Before you go in to take the test, make sure you are prepared to:
- Show proof of identity and Social Security number (if you have one).
- Fill out the Non-Commercial Driver License Application (you can fill it out at the office, too).
- Pass the vision test.
- Pay the $25 fee (it covers the knowledge and road tests). Field offices take credit cards (even Discover), cash, checks, and money orders.
Under 18: Permit
You’ll also need a Minor Affidavit & Information Sheet. Your parent or guardian will need to sign both forms as well, either in front of a notary or in person at the DMV.
You’ve got a permit to drive. It might be time to think about buying a car.
First, consider how much driving you’ll be doing and how reliable the car needs to be. Used cars offer fantastic value, but be careful.
To head off buying many problems, get a Vehicle History Report before you buy. For one fee, you get access to the histories of all the cars you want for a month or more. All you need is the car’s VIN. The reports tells you about accidents and salvaged titles.
After you’ve found the perfect car, it’s time to find the right car insurance plan for you.
Some cars cost more to insure than others, so before you make the purchase, find out how much it will be. Comparison shopping for insurance is always smart.
For an appointment, call whichever is closest to you:
- Las Vegas area (702) 486-4368
- Reno/Sparks/Carson City (775) 684-4368
- Elsewhere in Nevada (877) 368-7828
Or use the online appointment system to schedule a time.
Drive tests are usually stopped an hour before close.
Bring a car with adequate insurance and registration that will pass safety testing. Also bring someone along with you to drive you home, in case you fail the test.
Under 18: For the Driving Test
If you’ve already held a permit and are taking the drive test, you also need to bring:
- Driver’s Ed Certificate of Completion.
- Completed Beginning Driver Experience Log.
- Instruction permit.
- A parent or guardian.
- Completed Non-Commercial Driver License Application and Minor Affidavit & Information Sheet (these forms need to be resubmitted even if you completed them to obtain your instruction permit).
Once You Pass
You’ll be issued a temporary license at the office. Your official license will be mailed to you within 10 days.
If You Fail
Ask the examiner when you can reschedule the test. You may not take it again on the same day. Fee: $10.
Before you go in for a license, contact your local DMV office to see if you’re eligible. When inquiring, you'll need to provide the Status Code issued by the U.S. Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services.
If the DMV says you can apply, provide one of the following identification forms:
- Consular report of birth abroad
- Refugee travel documents
- Permanent or temporary Resident Card
- Resident Alien Card or I-551 receipt
- Valid foreign passport stamped "Processed for I-551"
- Arrival-departure record (I-94) with visa or passport
- Permit to re-enter the U.S.
Nevada officials won't accept foreign driver licenses, foreign birth certificates, border crossing cards, foreign passports without an I-94 arrival-departure record, or matricular consular cards as identification proof.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Chrysler Caves, Recalls 2.7 Million Jeep Grand Cherokees and Liberty SUVs
- Chrysler Cold Shoulders Government’s Recall Request
- Driver Signs: A Zodiac Guide to Your Road Habits
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting