Ticket Fines and Penalties in New MexicoPage Overview
All New Mexico courts follow a uniform traffic code as a guideline for setting fines and penalties, but have the leeway to set their own laws as long as they are within the limits of the state statutes. This means a fine for disobeying a stop sign in Taos, may not be the same in Farmington.
The fine will be listed on your traffic ticket. For questions regarding the fine amount, contact the court listed on your citation.
If you cannot find your citation, learn what to do on our Lost Traffic Ticket page.
Magistrate, Metropolitan and Municipal Court Fees
Regardless if you pay by mail or challenge your citation before a judge, you will also be charged court fees in addition to the traffic fine.
In Magistrate Court you will be charged the following:
- $55 with a guilty plea
- $75 if you plead not guilty and are then found guilty by the court
In Metropolitan Court you will be charged the following:
- $49 with a guilty plea
- $69 if you plead not guilty and are then found guilty by the court
In Municipal Court you will be charged $28.
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine
- Option to plea bargain penalties
- Incur points on your driving record (could lead to license suspension/revocation)
- Possibly incur increase on auto insurance rates
- Possible option to attend driver improvement school and reduce points
Learn more about
Paying Your Traffic Ticket »
Car Insurance Rate Increase
Another cost that goes hand in hand with traffic tickets comes in the form of increased auto insurance rates. Providers monitor driving records closely. You always have the option to counter high premiums by shopping for a new car insurance company. Comparing insurance rates online is a great way to find an affordable coverage plan.Compare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Penalties are determined by a variety of factors, including severity of infraction, license type (instructional permit, provisional license, CDL, etc.) and driving record. Points and having your New Mexico driver's license suspended or revoked are the two most common penalties.
New Mexico Point System
Following the conviction of a traffic violation, the MVD assign points to your driving record. Depending on the infraction, you'll receive between two and eight points. The more severe the infraction, the higher the point total.
If you receive six points within one calendar year, the MVD will send you a warning letter. If you accumulate between seven and 10 points in 12 consecutive months, the MVD, at the recommendation of the court, will suspend your NM driver's license for three months. If accrue 12 or more points, you'll be handed a 12-month suspension.
NM Driver's License Suspension and Revocation
If the MVD suspends or revokes your New Mexico driver's license, it's good to know the differences between the two:
License Suspension―The temporary withdrawal of a driver license for a specified period of time. Driving privileges will resume once all reinstatement requirements have been satisfied.
License Revocation―The termination of driver license. At the end of the revocation period, the driver must reapply for a driver's license, requiring passing the knowledge and road tests.
Some of the violations that could suspend or revoke your NM driver's license include:
- Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs
- Reckless driving
- Leaving the scene of an accident resulting in injury or death
- Exceeding the posted speed limit by 26 mph or more
- Driving with an invalid license
It's always wise to check the point total on your driving record following a citation. If you know your point total is nearing suspension stage, you may look into getting points removed by enrolling in a court-approved driving improvement school.Instant New Mexico Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record. Each record may include suspensions, points, classifications, vital data, endorsements, expiration and driving status.
Penalties for Drivers Younger Than 18
In addition to the violations listed above, you may also lose your driving privileges for violating any of the restrictions associated with your instructional permit or provisional license.
Penalties for Commercial Drivers
You must notify your employer within 30 days of receiving a traffic violation conviction. This applies to all driving situations. Even if you are ticketed while driving your own car, you must still alert your boss.
Penalties for commercial drivers come with heavy repercussions. Not only can a traffic violation affect your wallet, but also jeopardize your career. To learn more, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) provides a detailed list of traffic violation penalties.Other Topics in This SectionRecommended Articles Next Prev
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- Contesting an Out-of-State Traffic Ticket
- Traffic Ticket Myths: What’s Fact and What’s Fiction?
- Using Witnesses When Fighting a Traffic Ticket
- The Pros and Cons of Fighting a Traffic Ticket
- Traffic Ticket and DUI Penalties for Commercial Drivers
- Attending Traffic School for an Auto Insurance Discount
- Types of Traffic Schools
- Attending Traffic School for a Traffic Ticket
- Handling a Lost Parking Ticket
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- How to Do An Online Warrant Search
- I just got ticketed. What's my next move?
- What happens if I ignore my traffic ticket?
- Can I reschedule my court date?
- 5 Important Steps If You Lost Your Drivers License
- I-94 Forms and Arriving in the U.S.
- What to do if the Colorado Floods Damaged Your Car
- 9 Urgent Must-Dos If You Lose Your Driver’s License
- 7 Reasons Student Drivers Fail Their Written Permit Exam
- Werner Herzog’s Texting-and-Driving Documentary Slated to Hit Hard
Can't find something? Let us help you find it!