Suspended License in New Mexico
Instant Driving Record - Exclusively Online!
Instant Motor Vehicle Report Includes:
- Driving Status
- License Classification
NOTICE: This is standard non-certified driving record. For a certified record, you must contact MVD
Get your personal driver's license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.Page Overview
Suspended Driver’s Licenses in New Mexico
The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) can suspend your driver’s license for a number of reasons, including traffic violations, failure to pay child support, and DUI offenses.
Having a suspended license not only removes your driving privileges, but can leave you with costly fees and increased car insurance premiums.
Common reasons for driver’s license suspensions or revocations in New Mexico include, but are not limited to:
- Alcohol-related offenses, such as:
- DWI conviction.
- Violation of implied consent law.
- An excess of traffic violation points.
- Failure to pay child support.
The MVD can revoke your license if you:
- Violate implied consent by refusing a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
- Testing over the legal limit for blood alcohol concentration.
If your license is suspended or revoked by the MVD, you are still subject to criminal penalties imposed by the court upon a conviction.
For more information on DWI offenses, please see our DUI/DWI in New Mexico page.
The Point System
In the state of New Mexico, certain traffic convictions can add "points" to your driving record. The number of points you'll receive varies depending on the violation.
Common traffic violations that earn a driver points include speeding, failure to wear a seatbelt, failure to stop for a stop sign, and failure to yield.
If you have 12 points or more added to your record within 12 months, your license will be suspended for 12 months.
See our page on DMV Points in New Mexico for more detailed information.
Check Your License Status
Are you worried that you might be facing a suspension soon? Check your NM driver record to find out.
Your driving record will show you any points, traffic convictions, accidents, etc. Because your record can actually affect your car insurance rates, it’s smart to know exactly what is on it.
You may be able to request an administrative hearing to appeal your driver’s license suspension. The MVD indicates that you can request hearings for:
- License revocation for violation of implied consent.
- License suspension for failure to pay your child support payments.
- Other disputes related to the MVD.
To request a hearing, you must complete a Request for Hearing (Form MVD10792) and hand-deliver or mail it to:
New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division
Driver Services Bureau
1100 South St. Francis Drive, Room 2092
P.O. Box 1028
Santa Fe, NM 87504-1028
If you are appealing an implied consent revocation, you must include a check or money order for $25.Contact a Traffic Attorney Near You
If your license has been suspended from traffic violations or DUI, get the legal support you need.
In order to reinstate your driver’s license in New Mexico, you may have to fulfill requirements given to you by the MVD and/or court. Reinstatement typically involves:
- Taking a driver improvement course approved by the Traffic Safety Bureau (TSB).
- Paying your reinstatement fee (and any other related fees).
- Applying for a new NM license and taking any applicable tests.
If you’ve been convicted of a DWI, you can have to complete a TSB-approved DWI Prevention and Education Program.
To learn more about your reinstatement requirements, contact the MVD at (888) 683-4636.
In order to reinstate your suspended New Mexico license, you will face reinstatement fees; these fees are separate from any criminal monetary penalties associated with your offense.
For more information about your fee, contact the MVD at (888) 683-4636.Other Topics in This Section