Safety Laws in New Mexico
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
State law requires anyone riding in a motor vehicle that was manufactured with seat belts to wear a seat belt while the vehicle is in motion.
Police officers have the right to pull over a vehicle just because an occupant is not obeying this law. Violators may be fined $25, have two points assessed on their license, and face possible additional fees depending on where they live.
The rules concerning safety seats vary with the child's age.
Children under the age of one need to be properly secured in an approved rear-facing safety seat placed in the back seat of the vehicle. In a vehicle without a rear seat, place the child in a safety seat on the front passenger seat, as long as the passenger-side air bag has been deactivated.
Children between the ages of one and five and those weighing under 40 pounds must be properly secured in an approved safety seat.
Children ages five and six and those weighing under 60 pounds must be properly secured in an approved booster seat or another appropriate car seat.
Children between six and 12 years old may be properly secured in a car seat or booster seat, or by a seat belt.
If you're in the market for one, you can shop online for a child car seat at any time. When ordering, be sure the car seat matches your child's height, weight and age.
Drivers may be fined $25, have two points assessed on their license, and face possible additional fees depending on where they live for failing to properly secure children riding in their vehicle.
Safety Seat Fitting Locations
Those needing direction on selecting the proper safety seat should make an appointment to consult with an expert at a child safety seat fitting location.
For more information on seat belt or child safety seat laws, call the Traffic Safety Bureau at (505) 827-0427 or (800) 541-7952. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) also has a lot more information.
As of March 2011, there are no statewide laws against cell phone usage or texting while driving. Some jurisdictions do, however, have laws against hand-held cell phones. Check with your local government or police department for the specifics in your area.
Headlights must be turned on when driving from 30 minutes after sunset to 30 minutes before sunrise, and at any other time when it's not possible to clearly see at least 500 feet ahead.
Anyone under the age of 18 riding a motorcycle must wear a helmet.
A motorcycle driver must wear protective glasses, goggles, or a faceshield if the bike doesn't have a windshield.
If you suspect someone is driving under the influence, you may call (877) DWI HALT or #DWI (cell phone only) to report the driver.
Give the operator as much specific information as possible, including the vehicle's location, license plate number, type, color, the direction it was heading, and why you suspect the driver is inebriated.
Only use this number to report possible drunk drivers. Call 911 to report serious accidents or other dangerous situations.
New Mexico doesn't have any specific laws addressing the issue of leaving children unattended in a vehicle.
Leaving children in a car may risk their lives if the weather's hot or cold; subject them to accidents (children can undo parking brakes); or expose them to kidnappers.
Knowingly or negligently putting a child in a situation in which the child's health or safety could be at risk can be considered child abuse.
Other Topics in This Section
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.